Marc Marquez takes pole position for the Valencia MotoGP season finale, despite his 27th fall of the season.

The Repsol Honda rider starts this weekend's title decider with a 21-point lead over Andrea Dovizioso, who could only qualify in ninth.

Dovizioso's team-mate Jorge Lorenzo escaped injury in a fast fall at the final corner, with Jack Miller and Aleix Espargaro also tumbling during the 15-minute session.

Tech 3's Jonas Folger is again replaced by Michael van der Mark. Aprilia's Aleix Espargaro is returning from a hand injury at Phillip Island. KTM test rider Mika Kallio and Ducati test rider Michele Pirro are making their latest wild-card appearances.

KTM's Pol Espargaro will start the race from pit lane after exceeding nine engine changes for the season.

Qualifying 2:
1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 29.897s [Lap 3/6] 315km/h (Max)
2. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 30.246s +0.349s [7/8] 313km/h
3. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 30.399s +0.502s [7/9] 316km/h
4. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 30.460s +0.563s [2/5] 319km/h
5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 30.589s +0.692s [6/9] 318km/h
6. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 30.764s +0.867s [6/7] 319km/h
7. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 30.848s +0.951s [8/9] 313km/h
8. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 30.857s +0.960s [4/8] 314km/h
9. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 30.961s +1.064s [7/9] 321km/h
10. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 30.972s +1.075s [2/9] 319km/h
11. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 31.044s +1.147s [3/7] 317km/h
12. Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 31.190s +1.293s [4/7] 321km/h

Qualifying 1:
13. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 31.030s 316km/h
14. Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 31.197s 315km/h
15. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 1m 31.216s 318km/h
16. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 31.297s 316km/h
17. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 31.300s 317km/h
18. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 1m 31.325s 320km/h
19. Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 31.361s 315km/h
20. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 31.487s 324km/h
21. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 1m 31.578s 319km/h
22. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 1m 31.625s 318km/h
23. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 1m 31.775s 315km/h
24. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 31.816s 313km/h
25. Michael Van Der Mark NED Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 32.504s 311km/h
* Rookie

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Fastest Practice time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 30.255s (FP2)

Official Valencia MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 29.401s (2016)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 31.171s (2016)

By Peter McLaren