The second official pre-season test, and MotoGP's debut in Thailand, is underway at Buriram.

This week's three-day outing is primarily to prepare for October's inaugural Thai MotoGP - offering the chance to gather data for the teams, check the facilities and evaluate tyres for Michelin.

Malaysian Hafizh Syahrin is riding his first MotoGP laps for Monster Yamaha Tech3 in what is effectively a final audition for the 2018 race seat vacated by Jonas Folger.

KTM's Pol Espargaro is absent due to injuries at the previous Sepang test.

Testing began at 9:30am and concludes at 5:30pm…

1. = Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 30.912s [Lap 30/49]
2. = Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 30.945s +0.033s [30/31]
3. = Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 31.305s +0.393s [35/38]
4. = Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 31.331s +0.419s [41/42]
5. = Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 31.487s +0.575s [39/52]
6. = Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 31.525s +0.613s [43/51]
7. = Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 31.531s +0.619s [51/52]
8. = Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 31.537s +0.625s [23/37]
9. = Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 31.588s +0.676s [39/50]
10. = Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 31.662s +0.750s [26/36]
11. ^4 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 31.692s +0.780s [55/56]
12. ˅1 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 31.713s +0.801s [48/49]
13. ˅1 Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 31.731s +0.819s [31/55]
14. ˅1 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 31.925s +1.013s [37/43]
15. ˅1 Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 31.971s +1.059s [34/49]
16. = Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 32.029s +1.117s [33/42]
17. = Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 1m 32.059s +1.147s [38/60]
18. = Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 32.059s +1.147s [35/50]
19. = Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 32.248s +1.336s [28/42]
20. = Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 32.601s +1.689s [27/37]
21. = Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 32.749s +1.837s [21/48]
22. = Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 1m 32.767s +1.855s [25/38]
23. = Tom Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 32.937s +2.025s [46/53]
24. = Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 34.041s +3.129s [37/39]
* Rookie

^X Rider is X positions higher than end of previous hour.
= Rider is same position as end of previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than end of previous hour.

Buririam WorldSBK records:
Pole Position:
Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki 1m 32.957s (2017)
Fastest race lap:
Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki 1m 33.436s (2017)

By Peter McLaren