Marquez quickest during a sunny morning warm-up session for the Japanese MotoGP at Motegi.

Quartararo was the first of four Yamahas in the top six, with Rins back on form for Suzuki in third.

Guintoli is making his latest Suzuki wild-card appearance, while Nakagami is taking part in his final event of the season before undergoing shoulder surgery. He will be replaced at the following 2019 rounds by Johann Zarco.

Rabat was absent due to a wrist injury on Saturday.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Japanese MotoGP - Warm-up Results
PosRiderNatTeamTime/DiffLapMax (km/h)
1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)1'45.816s5/12306k
2Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+0.220s11/11298k
3Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.466s5/11307k
4Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.535s8/11305k
5Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.621s7/11305k
6Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.695s9/11303k
7Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+0.758s9/11311k
8Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.851s4/10307k
9Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+0.913s7/11304k
10Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.981s4/9301k
11Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)+0.983s4/11306k
12Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.046s10/11304k
13Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+1.078s11/11306k
14Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+1.322s9/11308k
15Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.406s10/11301k
16Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+1.651s6/11306k
17Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+1.705s5/6309k
18Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.774s5/11307k
19Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.910s8/9301k
20Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+2.027s11/11304k
21Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+2.029s6/11306k
22Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.179s7/11300k
 Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)No Time0/00k

* Rookie.

Fastest Practice Time:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 44.764s (FP2)

Official Motegi MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 43.790s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 45.350s (2014)

By Peter McLaren