Marquez wins the Japanese MotoGP, joining Mick Doohan on 54 premier-class wins and handing Honda the 2019 constructors' title to add to his own riders' crown.

After a brief tussle with Quartararo on the opening lap, Marquez broke one-second clear and then edged into the distance.

Quartararo hung on to another second place despite a late charge from Dovizioso, wrapping up the Rookie of the Year title with ease.

Vinales again struggled in the early stages, before fighting his way through the pack until he reached the Ducati rider.

Rins and Crutchlow also put in a late surge, while Miller and to a lesser extent Morbidelli faded backwards from early rostrum places.

Rossi and Petrucci were unable to make an impression, The Doctor then falling in the closing stages.

While Marquez swept to victory, team-mate Lorenzo was again left near the back of the field.

Guintoli was making his latest wild-card appearance for Suzuki. Home star Nakagami was taking part in his final event of the season before undergoing shoulder surgery. He will be replaced at the following 2019 rounds by Johann Zarco.

Rabat, due to make a pitlane start for exceeding the engine allocation for this season, missed the race due to a wrist injury on Saturday.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Japanese MotoGP - Race Results
1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)42m 41.492s
2Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+0.870s
3Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+1.325s
4Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+2.608s
5Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+9.140s
6Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+9.187s
7Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+9.306s
8Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+10.695s
9Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)+14.216s
10Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+18.909s
11Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+25.554s
12Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+27.870s
13Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+29.983s
14Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+31.232s
15Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+32.546s
16Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+37.482s
17Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+40.410s
18Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+43.458s
19Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+46.206s
20Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+50.235s
 Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)DNF
 Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren