2023 Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte - Race Results
Pos Driver Team Manufacturer
1Ryan BlaneyTeam PenskeFord
2William ByronHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
3Martin Truex JrJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
4Bubba Wallace23XI RacingToyota
5Tyler Reddick23XI RacingToyota
6Kyle BuschRichard Childress RacingChevrolet
7Ricky Stenhouse JrJTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet
8Chris BuescherRFK RacingFord
9Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet
10Zane SmithFront Row MotorsportsFord
11Kevin HarvickStewart Haas RacingFord
12Alex BowmanHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
13Ryan PreeceStewart Haas RacingFord
14AJ AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet
15Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevrolet
16JJ YeleyRick Ware RacingFord
17Corey LaJoieSpire MotorsportsChevrolet
18Harrison BurtonWood Brothers RacingFord
19Brad KeselowskiRFK RacingFord
20Chase BriscoeStewart Haas RacingFord
21Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFord
22Ross ChastainTrackHouse RacingChevrolet
23Daniel SuarezTrackHouse RacingChevrolet
24Christopher BellJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
25Aric AlmirolaStewart Haas RacingFord
26Ty GibbsJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
27Ty DillonSpire MotorsportsChevrolet
28Michael McDowellFront Row MotorsportsFord
29BJ McLeodLive Fast MotorsportsChevrolet
30Kyle LarsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
31Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord
32Erik JonesLegacy Motor ClubChevrolet
33Todd GillilandRick Ware RacingFord
34Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet
35Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota
36Noah GragsonLegacy Motor ClubChevrolet
37Jimmie JohnsonLegacy Motor ClubChevrolet

Ryan Blaney has been in quite the slump over the last year or two, but even after all of the rain delays at Charlotte, it was worth the wait. Blaney snapped his 59-race winless streak on one of the biggest stages in NASCAR. This wasn't just another win for the Team Penske driver, it was the Coca-Cola 600, one of the crown jewel events on the schedule. Blaney led 163 of the 400 laps on Monday, including the last one.

"I might shed a tear," Blaney said. "This has been a cool weekend. Obviously Memorial Day weekend means a lot, growing up here watching dad run this race for a long time. It's so cool just to be a part of it, let alone win it. I know we had the car to do it, but restarts can be crazy. You start to get to feel like you can't win anymore when you don't win in a while. It kind of gets hard. So, just super thankful to the No. 12 guys for believing in me."

William Byron started on pole, led 91 laps and won the opening stage, but didn't have enough on the final restart to get back into the lead. Martin Truex Jr had a solid race and came home in 3rd with fellow Toyota drivers Bubba Wallace and Tyler Reddick earning top-five finishes. The rest of the top-ten went to Kyle Busch, Ricky Stenhouse Jr, Chris Buescher, Austin Dillon, and Zane Smith. Kevin Harvick was running up front for much of the day but a late spin ended his hopes of winning in his last Coca-Cola 600. Alex Bowman, who returned after missing the last six weeks due to injury, finished just behind him in 12th place.

The race itself felt like three different races. As the only event on the calendar with four stages, the rain was interrupted by rain throughout the day, after already being postponed from last night. Avoiding the rain was only part of the journey for Blaney, as there was plenty of carnage along the way that collected multiple championship contenders. The biggest moment came near the halfway point when Denny Hamlin and Chase Elliott got together.

Both drivers were frustrated with one another for contact on the previous lap, but after Hamlin put Elliott in the wall, Chase retaliated by turning into the right-rear of Hamlin, who crash hard into the outside wall, head-first. It was a dangerous decision by the Hendrick Motorsports driver, who Hamlin says should be suspended.

That wasn't the only aggressive move made on Monday, as Aric Almirola shoved Wallace on pit lane during the first rain delay. Almirola said that Bubba gave him the middle finger on the track, then began cussing him out when they got out of their cars. Several other drivers fell out of contention after Kyle Larson spun at the front of the field in the final stage of the race.

It was a sensational Memorial Day Weekend for Roger Penske. The Captain won his 19th Indianapolis 500 yesterday when Josef Newgarden finally broke through for his first win in his 12th attempt. Today, Penske won their third Coca-Cola 600, but this is the first time that the organization has won both events in the same year.

Previous Charlotte Coca-Cola 600 winners

2022: Denny Hamlin

2021: Kyle Larson

2020: Brad Keselowski

2019: Martin Truex Jr

2018: Kyle Busch

2017: Austin Dillon

2016: Martin Truex Jr

2015: Carl Edwards

2014: Jimmie Johnson

2013: Kevin Harvick

2012: Kasey Kahne

2011: Kevin Harvick

2010: Kurt Busch

2009: David Reutimann

2008: Kasey Kahne

2007: Casey Mears

2006: Kasey Kahne

2005: Jimmie Johnson

2004: Jimmie Johnson

2003: Jimmie Johnson

2002: Mark Martin

2001: Jeff Burton

2000: Matt Kenseth