The sun has set on 2018 and the world of motorsport is gearing up for a brand new year of racing across both four and two wheels.

With the competitive action getting underway for real this week at the start of the 2019 Dakar Rally, here is a comprehensive guide to the rest of the month’s main action.

Top 10 of F1 2018 Moments

2019 Dakar Rally - 6-17 January

Dakar is back for the 41st edition of the event, with South America once again playing host for the 11th successive year.

The action in Lima has already begun in an event that will be decided on 17 January after 10 stages and two weeks of competition across numerous surfaces including gravel, dirt and sand.

Peugeot’s withdrawal from this year’s event leaves the race wide open in Peru. Defending champions Carlos Sainz, Stephane Peterhansel and Cyril Despres have switched to drive for Mini and are expected to be among the frontrunners once more, along with the Toyota duo of Nasser Al-Attiyah and Gil de Villiers. Nine-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb will also be eyeing the title in a private Peugeot entry.

In the bikes class, KTM will be looking to keep up its Dakar domination of recent years following Matthias Walkner’s 2018 triumph and wins for Sam Sunderland in 2017 and Toby Price in 2016.