The Tesla-based Electric Production Car Series (EPCS) has revealed an eight-round, 10-race calendar for the inaugural season of the new, zero-emission based championship. 

Operated by Electric GT, the 2018/19 season will get underway at Jerez on November 3-4, before heading to Paul Ricard, the Nurburgring, Assen, Silverstone and concluding at the Algarve Portimao Circuit in Portugal in October 2019. 

Two additional rounds are set to take place in May and September, though circuits are yet to be assigned. It is understood that both rounds will take place outside of Europe. 

"This is a very exciting day for all of us who have worked so hard behind the scenes to prepare for our inaugural season," Electric GT CEO Mark Gemmell said. 

“Without a doubt, we have secured some of the most exciting European tracks for our first season of the Electric Production Car Series and this gives us a great platform to further expand the championship.

"We have received a great deal of interest from circuits around the world excited by the possibilities that electric racing brings. We've got lots more news to come very soon.”

Each EPCS round will consist of a single-day format including a 20-minute practice session, an hour-long qualifying and two races, with one taking place at dusk, while events will be supported by dedicated eKarting and ESports Series.

Participating teams will also contest a pre-season practice outing at the Pau Arnos circuit behind closed doors on October 26-27.

An official statement said Electric GT is currently in “open discussions with several investors to close the first institutional fundraising round and complete the project’s financing before its definitive launch this autumn”.

Provisional 2018/19 calendar 

November 3-4 Jerez
TBA (February/March 2019) Paul Ricard
June 29 Nurburgring
July 20-21 Assen
TBA (September) Silverstone
TBA (September) TBA
October 12-13 Algarve



Loading Comments...