2022 British Superbike Knockhill- Race Results (3)

Results from race three, round four of the 2022 Bennetts British Superbike Championship at Knockhill.
2022 British Superbike Knockhill- Race Results (3)

Jason O’Halloran completed his second consecutive Sunday double, winning the final British Superbike race of the Knockhill race weekend.

The McAMS rider sat patiently on his Yamaha in behind late race leader Bradley Ray.

With five laps to go and after several dress rehearsals, the Australian made his move, taking the inside at the hairpin and pulling a block to take the lead on lap 25 of 30.

1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Yamaha24m 18.655s
2Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+0.993s
3Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+1.587s
4Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+2.302s
5Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati+4.560s
6Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+5.284s
7Josh BrookesAUSMCE Ducati+6.082s
8Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Yamaha+6.373s
9Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+12.846s
10Tom SykesGBRMCE Ducati+14.502s
11Leon HaslamGBRVisiontrack Kawasaki+14.596s
12Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+14.977s
13Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Parts Kawasaki+15.330s
14Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK+20.317s
15Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+20.417s
16Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+21.047s
17Chrissy RouseGBRCrowe Performance BMW+27.642s
18Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing Kawasaki+33.879s
19Luke HopkinsGBRBlack Onyx Security Honda+39.854s
20Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers Suzuki+40.937s
21Liam DelvesGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+1 lap
22James EastGBRKawasaki - NP Racing+1 lap
23Ryan VickersGBRFHO Racing BMW with Attis Sports+7 laps
24Luke MosseyGBRTAG Racing Honda+12 laps
25Josh OwensGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+13 laps
26Dan LinfootGBRIForce BMW+15 laps
27Dan JonesGBRIforce BMW+15 laps
28Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+19 laps
29Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+21 laps
30Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+26 laps
31Christian IddonGBRBuildbase SuzukiDNS


The #22 didn’t look back and Ray had no reply to his late pace, allowing a small breakaway to lead over the line by just under a second.

It is O’Halloran’s sixth successive podium and fourth win of the season as he keeps the points coming in for a title challenge.

The pair were clear out front, allowing Ray to take a comfortable second for Rich Energy OMG Racing. In a highly consistent season it is Ray’s tenth podium visit in twelve races.

2022 British Superbike Knockhill- Race Results (3)

Third place was hotly contested with several riders in with a shout of the final podium slot. 

Lee Jackson came out on top for Cheshire Mouldings Kawasaki, his sixth podium visit this year as his confidence swells following his Oulton Park win. 

Jackson pulled away from the rest of the pack in the final laps, with Danny Buchan next best for SYNTEIQ BMW Motorrad, the top rider for BMW in the race, after a fiery run from eighth on the grid, always fighting for position every time he was questioned for a seasons best finish despite hitting a false neutral during the race.


Tommy Bridewell also stepped up his game to claim fifth for Oxford Products Ducati, ahead of Glenn Irwin, who had pulled the Honda as high as third before an error saw him fall back into the clutches of the riders behind.

Josh Brookes was Ducati’s top rider again in seventh as he too vied for the final podium spot before falling back.


Tarran Mackenzie bags more points in eighth


Reigning BSB champion Tarran Mackenzie was once again slicing his way thorough the field after earning tenth on the grid.

Initially dropping further back on the McAMS Yamaha the Scottish rider again rallied in front of the home crowd for a move through the mid-pack riders.

Leading the second group, he broke away and made so much progress that he came close to catching Brookes on the final lap on his way to eighth at the Fife track.

Kyle Ryde has an issue with his Rich Energy OMG Yamaha becoming difficult to handle as it becomes lighter as the race wears on. His team made alterations but it was not enough to prevent him finishing ninth.

Former WSBK champion Tom Sykes ( MCE Ducati) completed the top ten after a feisty battle with former BSB champion Leon Haslam, who needed stitches following his contact with Storm Stacey’s bike in the previous race.  

BSB Knockhill old lap record: Leon Haslam 47.462s (2018)

New lap record - race one 2022 : Bradley Ray - 47.434s

2021 Race Winners:
Race 1: Christian Iddon
Race 2: Danny Buchan
Race 3: Danny Buchan

Donington Race Winners:
1: Kyle Ryde
2: Jason O’Halloran
3: Jason O’Halloran

Race One Result:
1:Bradley ray
2: Jason O’Halloran
3:Rory Skinner

Race Two Result:
2: Lee Jackson
3:Rory Skinner

Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) was not far behind the duo in twelfth, with Stacey catching all the way in 13th for Team LKQ Euro Car Parts Kawasaki.

The battle for the final points on offer was won by Honda’s Tom Neave and Takumi Takahashi in 14th and 15th respectively.


Rory Skinner crashes out of the lead

It was another crash filled race at Knockhill, but the most dramatic and disappointing was Rory Skinner’s tumble from the lead.

The local rider had the crowd truly invested in his fortunes as he lead off the line from pole and then used his different line from the start to go out wide on a sweeping line and arrive at the first corner in control.

After losing the lead in race two, the Cheshire Mouldings put everything on the line for a home win, but his valliant attempt ended in the tyre wall as he slid out of contention on lap five.


Championship standings after race twelve

Bradley Ray holds the lead in the title hunt after another podium finish, now with a total of 216.

A Sunday double saw ‘rider of the round’  O’Halloran claw the difference back, finishing Knockhill just sixteen points adrift.

Lee Jackson remains third overall and is 42 points off Ray’s total, while Rory Skinner remained fourth despite his fall.

The remaining showdown slots are currently filled by Kyle Ryde, Glenn Irwin, Tommy Bridewell and Danny Buchan.

Read More