Jason O’Halloran made his move on Rory Skinner stick and then pulled away as the Kawasaki team-mates battled behind to win in the second British Superbike race of the Knockhill race weekend, his first victory at the Scottish circuit.

The McAMS rider had started fourth on the grid and sat in behind the leaders, looking to have the pace to lead.

The Australian made his move late in the race with three laps remaining and went side by side with then-leader Skinner, making his move stick and then setting about forming a gap.


2022 British Superbike Knockhill Race Results (2)
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Yamaha24m 18.655s
2Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+0.175s
3Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+1.020s
4Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+1.821s
5Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati+2.810s
6Josh BrookesAUSMCE Ducati+3.406s
7Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+4.327s
8Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+4.439s
9Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+6.094s
10Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Yamaha+7.286s
11Tom SykesGBRMCE Ducati+9.361s
12Chrissy RouseGBRCrowe Performance BMW+12.589s
13Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK+15.229s
14Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+15.371s
15Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+16.017s
16Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+16.656s
17Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing Kawasaki+20.647s
18Dan LinfootGBRIForce BMW+21.398s
19Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers Suzuki+25.495s
20Josh OwensGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+25.757s
21Liam DelvesGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+38.407s
22Luke MosseyGBRTAG Racing Honda+2 laps
23James EastGBRKawasaki - NP Racing+2 laps
24Luke HopkinsGBRBlack Onyx Security Honda+5 laps
25Ryan VickersGBRFHO Racing BMW with Attis Sports+8 laps
26Dan JonesGBRIforce BMW+11 laps
27Leon HaslamGBRVisiontrack Kawasaki+23 laps
28Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Parts Kawasaki+23 laps
29Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+29 laps
30Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+29 laps
31Christian IddonGBRBuildbase SuzukiDNS


That task was helped by home hero Skinner receiving attention from his Kawasaki team-mate Lee Jackson over the closing laps.

O’Halloran backed up his podium finish in the sprint race with a win, crossing the line 0.715s ahead of the warring green machines.

Their battle was won by Jackson, who grows in confidence every race with a string of strong results behind him.

Their tantalising duel was a great watch, but disappointing for Skinner who had to settle for third after doing the biggest share of leading while battling arm pump symptoms and circulating behind the safety car. 

The performance matches his finish in the sprint race yesterday , where the Scottish rider was also third. Skinner will start on pole in race three, increasing his hopes of a home win.

Bradley Ray had just his second off the rostrum finish this season, but still picked up valuable points in fourth on the Rich Energy OMG Yamaha. He was passed by O’Halloran as he struggled to control a wobble on lap 22, with Jackson also finding a way past soon after.

Tommy Bridewell made up one place on his grid position in a mostly solo fifth for Oxford Products Ducati.

Josh Brookes nudged Ryan Vickers ending his hopes, but the MCE Ducati rider survived the incident to come home in sixth.

Danny Buchan dropped back to seventh for SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad, with he was able to keep Silverstone triple winner, Honda’s  Glenn Irwin behind him.

Kyle Ryde lead briefly before fading badly, finishing an eventual ninth on the second Rich Energy OMG bike.

Tarran Mackenzie moves from the back of the grid to the top ten

If Ryde was heading the wrong way then reigning champion Tarran MAckenzie was making all the right moves as he hit the top ten in race two.

Mackenzie started from 29th on the grid after missing yesterday’s race and was up to 17th after just a handful of laps.

The Scottish rider was eager to perform on home soil and managed to not pick up any further injuries in his crashes earlier in the weekend so was able to push all the way to tenth on the second McAMS Yamaha, completing a strong race for the team with O’Halloran leading the way.


The #1 rider was well clear of eleventh placed Tom Sykes (MCE Ducati) who was in turn enjoying his own safety net of a gap over twelfth - Chrissy Rouse (Crowe Performance BMW) a big performance from the man who had sponsor issues heading into the race weekend.

BSB Knockhill old lap record: Leon Haslam 47.462s (2018)

New lap record - race one 2022 : Bradley Ray - 47.434s

2021 Race Winners:

Race 1: Christian Iddon
Race 2: Danny Buchan
Race 3: Danny Buchan

Donington Race Winners:
1: Kyle Ryde
2: Jason O’Halloran
3: Jason O’Halloran

Qualifying Front Row:
1: Bradley Ray 47.131s
2: Jason O’Halloran +0.005s
3:Lee Jackson +0.249s

Race One Result:
1:Bradley ray
2: Jason O’Halloran
3:Rory Skinner

The final points on offer went to Honda’s Tom Neave in 13th, Danny Kent, who has recovered from the punctured lung he sustained at the last round in 14th for Buildbase Suzuki and Honda’s Ryo Mizuno in 15th ahead of fellow countryman Takumi Takahashi.

The race was peppered with crashes, the biggest of which was when the battle for ninth position, Storm Stacey and Leon Haslam, ended in the gravel on lap nine, bringing out the safety car. Haslam crashed of his own accord first, Stacey had a false neutral and followed the former champion it, clipping his neck on the way.

Earlier in the race a furious Peter Hickman and Andrew Irwin saw their race end the same way.

Both Dan Jones and Ryan Vickers retired to the pits while Luke Hopkins, James East and Luke Mossey all also failed to see the chequered flag.

Championship standings after Race Two

Bradley Ray now has a total of 196 points after race eleven, with Jason O’Halloran reducing the deficit in the title hunt to 21 points after his emphatic win. Lee Jackson is third overall and 38 points down on Ray with fellow Kawasaki rider Rory Skinner fourth a further ten points adrift.