Scott Smart won the second race of round nine from Mallory Park ahead of Kiyonari, James Haydon and John Reynolds. The race was red flagged on the fifth lap and the second part played out over 28 laps. The restarted race saw the safety car called out on two occasions, closing up the field.

The final positions were decided on combined times of the two parts of the race.

Scott Smart started the second part of the race from first position, but was relegated to fifth by the first corner. He then battled his way to the front and took a convincing win.

Reynolds made his way into second in the early stages of the first part of the race, but after the restart he fell back down to sixth behind Emmett. He managed to claw back fifth place in order to secure second place on times.

Haydon always looked quick in both parts of the race, fighting for second position, on track, with JR for much of the first half of the race.

Sean Emmett had an inspired race which saw him starting from tenth in the second part, he then made his way up the pack to take an overall fifth.

A late charge from the young Kiyonari saw him take second place with Reynolds finishing in fifth on track positions, however due to the combined times of the two parts of the race JR managed to hold onto second.

JR's main championship rival, Michael Rutter, crashed out on lap 20 effectively ending his championship bid.

There are eight races left with a possible 200 points on offer, however Rutter is currently 73 points behind and it would mean Reynolds not finishing in a number of races with poor finishes in the rest.

This is highly unlikely (although not impossible) meaning that JR is on course to take the championship for a third time.

There were a number of fallers during the race. Malcom Ashley was the first to fall on lap two. This saw the race restarted.

Kieran Clarke had a big accident on lap 16 which called the saftey car into action, as did Michael Rutter on lap 19.

All riders are ok.

Race two top ten combined times of part one and two

1. Scott Smart Hawk Kawasaki
2. John Reynolds Rizla Suzuki
3. Ryuichi Kiyonari HM Honda
4. James Haydon Virgin Yamaha
5. Sean Emmett Monstermob Ducati
6. Tommy Hill Virgin Yamaha
7. Gary Mason Virgin Yamaha
8. Dean Thomas Sendo Ducati
9. John McGuinness Hawk Kawasaki
10. Steve Plater Virgin Yamaha