After asking you to vote for your leading drivers from the HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship season, the time has come to start the count-down to the driver you voted the top star of 2008.

Over the next ten days, we will be revealing the top ten in reverse order, with the winner being revealed on Friday 14 November.

More than 7,000 votes were cast on the BTCC poll, with each drivers average score out of ten then being calculated to decide the winner.

BTCC Driver of the Year - Ninth place:

Name: Gordon SheddenTeam: Team HalfordsCar: Honda Civic (S2000)Wins:2Podiums: 2Fastest laps: 1Championship points: 144Championship position: 7th

For Gordon Shedden, the 2008 BTCC turned season out to be a tough one as he was unable to launch the title challenge that had been widely expected at the start of the year.

While the Scot took two wins during the year - including an emotional victory at Rockingham which was dedicated to the late David Leslie - he was unable to make the most of the undoubted pace of the Team Halfords Honda Civic.

Indeed, aside from his wins, Shedden managed just two more podium finishes over the season and seventh in the standings was scant reward for his pace.

On more than one occasion, Shedden found himself in the wrong place at the wrong time but will hope that in 2009, he is able to fight for the championship crown.

"It's been a frustrating year for me but hopefully I get the chance to come back again in 2009 and finish right up towards the head of the field - I preferred it last year when I finished third!" he said. "There is a lot that has gone on this season and you have to take the ups and the downs. I haven't had much luck this season but don't they say seven is a lucky number? It could be an omen for next year!"

Tomorrow: Who did you vote eighth in the Driver of the Year poll?