Mercedes driver Edoardo Mortara has secured his first DTM victory since Hockenheim 2016 after beating BMW duo Timo Glock and Philipp Eng in the first Lausitzring.

The Italian driver started the opening race from seventh position but led the BMW M4 of Glock across the line by 0.9s to record his first victory since switching to Mercedes at the end of the 2016 season.

Mortara's maiden Mercedes has moved him up to third in the standings, while Glock strengthened his championship lead to 17-points ahead of Gary Paffett after finishing in second.

Philipp Eng collected his first DTM podium finish in only his third race in the series after beating pole-man Lucas Auer to third position by 0.298s. 

Bruno Spengler was fifth for Team RBM, ahead of Paul di Resta, Marco Wittmann and Pascal Wehrlein in sixth, seventh and eighth.

Paffett maintained second position in the points standings after his ninth place finish, as Augusto Farfus completed the remainder of the points paying positions in tenth.

Astonishingly, not one Audi driver managed to record a points paying finish as Mike Rockenfeller missed on tenth position by just 0.3s behind the BMW of Farfus.