Macau Grand Prix winner Dan Ticktum has been named the 29th McLaren Autosport BRDC Award recipient and with it a Formula 1 test and simulator role with the team.

Red Bull-backed Ticktum was honoured after beating fellow finalists Enaam Ahmed, Max Fewtrell and Harrison Scott for the prestigious award thanks to a successful campaign in Formula Renault Eurocup where he finished seventh in the drivers’ championship. The 18-year-old also contested the final three GP3 Series rounds, scoring a podium in Abu Dhabi, and won the Macau Grand Prix.

After two days of assessments at Silverstone driving a range of cars – Formula 2, Mercedes DTM, McLaren GT3 – the British driver was selected at the Autosport awards ceremony.

It marks a turnaround in fortunes for Ticktum who was banned from racing in 2016 after deliberately crashing into a rival behind a safety car in 2015. Ticktum picked up Red Bull backing at the start of this season and is set to graduate into the European Formula 3 championship next year, following in the footsteps of 2016 McLaren BRDC award winner Lando Norris who has risen to reserve and third driver for McLaren.

The judging panel consisted of outgoing BRDC President Derek Warwick, two-time BTCC champion Jason Plato, 1997 award winner Andrew Kirkaldy, ex-F1 designer Mark Williams, commentator Ian Titchmarsh, Autosport editors Kevin Turner and Scott Mitchell plus 2008 award winner Alexander Sims as guest judge.

Previous McLaren BRDC award winners include David Coulthard, Jenson Button and Dario Franchitti.