Ricciardo drops to back for Turkish GP after F1 engine change

Daniel Ricciardo is set to drop to the very back of the Turkish Grand Prix grid after McLaren opted to fit a new engine in his Formula 1 car.
Ricciardo drops to back for Turkish GP after F1 engine change

The Australian was due to start only 15th on the grid following a surprise Q1 elimination during a disappointing qualifying session in Turkey. 

After evaluating the situation overnight, McLaren has elected to take the opportunity to swap Ricciardo’s engine in favour of fresh components. 

McLaren will not make wholesale power unit changes however, having chosen to only install a new internal combustion engine, turbocharger, MGU-H and exhaust system. 

The strategic engine change consigns Ricciardo to a back-of-the-grid start for the Turkish Grand Prix, where he will line up behind directly behind Carlos Sainz. 

Sainz also has a grid penalty after Ferrari fitted its upgraded engine in his car ahead of the race in Istanbul. 

A total of three drivers have taken grid drops in Turkey, with world championship leader Lewis Hamilton starting 11th after Mercedes replaced his internal combustion engine. 

Mercedes has admitted it will have to “contain” the reliability issues it is facing with its current engine for the remainder of the 2021 season.

McLaren goes into Sunday’s race 17.5 points clear of Ferrari in the battle over third place in the constructors’ championship.

Ricciardo’s teammate Lando Norris starts seventh, while Charles Leclerc will line up third in his Ferrari. 

2021 F1 Turkish Grand Prix - STARTING GRID
1Valtteri Bottas FINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team
2Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing 
3Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow
4Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda
5Fernando AlonsoESPAlpine F1 Team
6Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull Racing 
7Lando Norris GBRMcLaren F1 Team
8Lance Stroll CANAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team
9Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri Honda
10Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team
11Lewis Hamilton **GBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team
12Esteban OconFRAAlpine F1 Team
13George RussellGBRWilliams Racing
14Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team
15Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing
16Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen
17Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen
18Nikita Mazepin RUSUralkali Haas F1 Team
19Carlos Sainz *ESPScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow
20Daniel Ricciardo ***AUSMcLaren F1 Team 

Read More