2021 F1 British Grand Prix - Sprint Qualifying RESULTS
1Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing17 Laps
2Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team+ 1.430s
3Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team+ 7.502s
4Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow+ 11.278s
5Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team+ 24.111s
6Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team+ 30.959s
7Fernando AlonsoESPAlpine F1 Team+ 43.527s
8Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team+ 44.439s
9George RussellGBRWilliams Racing+ 46.652s
10Esteban OconFRAAlpine F1 Team+ 47.395s
11Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow+ 47.798s
12Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda+ 48.763s
13Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen+ 50.677s
14Lance StrollCANAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team+ 52.179s
15Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen+ 53.225s
16Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri Honda+ 53.567s
17Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing+ 55.162s
18Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team+ 68.213s
19Nikita MazepinRUSUralkali Haas F1 Team+ 77.648s
20Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull Racing

+ 1 Lap

Hamilton has an impeccable record on home soil, winning at Silverstone on seven previous occasions.

While Red Bull has won the last five consecutive races, it is not a happy hunting ground with Mercedes winning seven of the last nine races at Silverstone.

Another factor in play is that F1 is testing its sprint qualifying format for this weekend.

Friday will consist of one practice session followed by qualifying

Saturday will start with a practice session before a sprint race in the afternoon - the results of this 100km race will determine the grid for the main grand prix.

Three points will be awarded to the winner of the sprint race, two for second and one for third.

Recent British Grand Prix Winners:

2020: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2019: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2018: Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

2017: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2016: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2015: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2014: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2013: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

2012: Mark Webber (Red Bull)

2011: Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

Remainder of the 2021 F1 calendar:

British Grand Prix - July 18

Hungarian Grand Prix - August 1

Belgian Grand Prix - August 29

Dutch Grand Prix - September 5

Italian Grand Prix - September 12

Russian Grand Prix - September 26

Turkish Grand Prix - October 3

Japanese Grand Prix - October 10

United States Grand Prix - October 24

Mexican Grand Prix - October 31

Brazilian Grand Prix - November 7

TBA - November 21

Saudi Arabian Grand Prix - December 5

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - December 12