2022 F1 Bahrain Grand Prix - Results
1Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari57 Laps
2Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari+ 5.598s
3Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team+ 9.675s
4George RussellGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team+ 11.211s
5Kevin MagnussenDANHaas F1 Team+ 14.757s
6Valtteri BottasFINAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen+ 16.119s
7Esteban OconFRABWT Alpine F1 Team+ 19.423s
8Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri+ 20.386s
9Fernando AlonsoESPBWT Alpine F1 Team+ 22.390s
10Guanyu ZhouCHNAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen+ 23.064s
11Mick SchumacherGERHaas F1 Team+ 32.574s
12Lance StrollCANAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team+ 45.873s
13Alexander AlbonTHAWilliams Racing+ 53.932s
14Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team+ 54.975s
15Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team+ 56.335s
16Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing+ 61.795s
17Nico HulkenbergGERAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team+ 63.829s
18Sergio PerezMEXOracle Bull Racing+ 1 Lap
 Max VerstappenNEDOracle Red Bull RacingDNF
 Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauriDNF

The 2022 Formula 1 season is finally here as the action gets underway at the Bahrain International Circuit.

Over the years, Bahrain has been great for wheel-to-wheel action so the Sakhir circuit will be a great way to introduce F1's new era of cars.

The cars are completely different for this year with new technical regulations introduced to level the playing field and make overtaking easier.

The same teams appear to be at the front with Red Bull enjoying a strong second pre-season test as Max Verstappen looks to defend the drivers' championship.

The Dutchman set a number of blistering laps on the final day of F1 testing in Bahrain when Red Bull introduced some new upgrades.

Ferrari had its best pre-season campaign in years with Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz consistently at the front of the timesheets.

The Scuderia hasn't won since 2019 nor has it tasted championship glory since 2008.

Eight-time constructors' champions Mercedes appears to be on the back foot going into Bahrain with it most affected by porpoising - the bouncing movement at high speed.

McLaren is best placed to challenge outside the top three teams after coming away from Barcelona very confident.

However, the Woking outfit struggled in Bahrain due to a recurring brake issue which curtailed the team's running.

The team was also impacted by Daniel Ricciardo's absence after he tested positive for COVID-19.

The midfield is impossible to predict with Haas and Alfa Romeo showing impressive pace at times, while Alpine, Aston Martin and AlphaTauri have traditionally led the midfield in recent years.

Recent Bahrain GP winners:

2022 - Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

2021 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2020 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2019 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2018 - Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

2017 - Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

2016 - Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

2015 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2014 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)