Britain's Justin Wilson made the most of a safety car restart to win his first F3000 race - and the first of the modern era to be held outside of Europe.

The lanky 22-year old was best placed to pass erstwhile leader Jaime Melo after the paced period ended on lap five, and in similar stead to benefit when Antonio Pizzonia, Tomas Enge and Rodrigo Sperafico were all penalised for having passed the Durango driver as the yellow flags first appeared.

With the Czech and two Brazilians demoted out of the top ten, and Melo unable to mount much as a challenge in his slowing Lola, Wilson took a comfortable victory from Australian Mark Webber, who mounted a late attack on Melo to take second.

The Brazilian finished third, a long way ahead of fourth placed Sebastien Bourdais. The Frenchman had been passed by Darren Manning's Arden car with just a handful of laps to run, but the Briton was then forced back after a mistake and could only finish eighth.

David Saelens took fifth for European Minardi, ahead of rookie Joel Camathias (KTR).

Full report and results to follow...

Leading finishers - Interlagos F3000.

1. Justin Wilson Nordic
2. Mark Webber Super Nova
3. Jaime Melo Jr Durango
4. Sebastien Bourdais DAMS
5. David Saelens European
6. Joel Camathias KTR