Moto3's Alberto Surra officially joins VR46 Riders Academy

Alberto Surra becomes the ninth official member of the VR46 Riders Academy in world championship racing.
Alberto Surra, Moto3, British MotoGP, 29 August 2021
Alberto Surra, Moto3, British MotoGP, 29 August 2021
© Gold and Goose

Rising Moto3 star Alberto Surra has 'officially' joined the VR46 Riders Academy.

Surra was already associated with VR46 after starting this season racing for Team Bardahl VR46 Riders Academy in the Italian CIV championship, plus a grand prix debut as a wild-card at Mugello.

The Italian, 17, then stepped in at the Snipers team in place of Filip Salac from Assen and has been signed by the team for the full 2022 world championship season.

Although yet to score points, VR46 are impressed by Surra's progress and he has been made an official member of the Riders' Academy.

“I am really happy to be part of the VR46 Riders Academy project," said Surra. "In the last few months I have had the chance to grow a lot both as a rider and as a person and I owe this mainly to the important opportunities provided by the Academy.

"For this reason I would like to thank all the people who are part of this beautiful family and especially Uccio (Alessio Salucci) and Barbara (Barbara Mazzoni, VR46 Riders Academy Account Manager) for the constant support and trust shown in my regards.”

“In the last few months Alberto has proved to be an excellent rider, achieving good results and above all showing that he is able to improve race after race, and this is important," added Alessio Salucci, Sporting Director VR46 Riders Academy.

"We are very happy to officially welcome him to the Riders Academy, and we are sure that together we can achieve great things. A special mention goes to the Italian Federation (FMI) for the excellent work it is doing in support of young Italian talents."

The current list of 'official' Academy Riders, as provided by VR46 to, is as follows:

  • Franco Morbidelli (MotoGP)
  • Francesco Bagnaia (MotoGP)
  • Luca Marini (MotoGP)
  • Marco Bezzecchi (Moto2)
  • Celestino Vietti (Moto2)
  • Stefano Manzi (Moto2)
  • Niccolò Antonelli (Moto3)
  • Andrea Migno (Moto3)
  • Alberto Surra (Moto3)

Read More