Maverick Vinales has taken pole position for the Aragon MotoGP ahead of Ducati's Jorge Lorenzo, after provisional pole holder Marc Marquez fell on his final run adn dropped to fifth on the grid.

Valentino Rossi claimed a shock front-row start, just 23 days after breaking his right tibia and fibula in an enduro training accident!

Andrea Dovizioso, tied with Marquez at the top of the standings, will start from seventh place.

KTM test rider Mika Kallio is making his latest wild-card entry, as he seeks to make his case for a race seat in 2018...

Qualifying 2:
1. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 47.635s [Lap 6/7] 333km/h (Max)
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 47.735s +0.100s [6/7] 333km/h
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 47.815s +0.180s [6/7] 333km/h
4. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 47.830s +0.195s [6/7] 331km/h
5. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 47.963s +0.328s [3/6] 329km/h
6. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 48.107s +0.472s [7/8] 335km/h
7. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP17) 1m 48.137s +0.502s [6/7] 336km/h
8. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 48.159s +0.524s [6/8] 328km/h
9. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar (GP16) 1m 48.187s +0.552s [7/7] 341km/h
10. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 48.289s +0.654s [6/7] 332km/h
11. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 48.402s +0.767s [6/6] 329km/h
12. Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 48.471s +0.836s [3/5] 333km/h

Qualifying 1:
13. Jack Miller AUS EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 48.307s 333km/h
14. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 48.387s 333km/h
15. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar (GP15) 1m 48.467s 336km/h
16. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac (GP17) 1m 48.908s 332km/h
17. Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia (GP15) 1m 48.911s 330km/h
18. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 49.034s 327km/h
19. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 49.052s 338km/h
20. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 49.233s 333km/h
21. Tito Rabat ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 49.258s 331km/h
22. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac (GP16) 1m 49.288s 334km/h
23. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 49.578s 333km/h
24. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m 50.769s 326km/h
* Rookie
Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Fastest practice time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda1m 48.252 (FP3)

Official Aragon MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda1m 46.635s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha1m 48.120s (2015)

By Peter McLaren