Dovizioso leads Marquez during a dry and bright warm-up for the Japanese MotoGP at Motegi.

Marquez currently has a 77-point lead over Dovizioso and 99-point lead over Rossi. If the Honda rider has a championship lead of at least 75-points after today's race, he will claim his fifth MotoGP title with three rounds still to go.

Jorge Lorenzo has withdrawn from the event due to the left wrist fracture in Thailand.

Sylvain Guintoli and Katsuyuki Nakasuga are making their latest wild-card appearances for Suzuki and Yamaha respectively.

Tito Rabat is still recovering from leg fractures at Silverstone and again replaced by WorldSBK rider Jordi Torres. Torres has the GP16 machines of Simeon, who is on Rabat's GP17s.

CLICK HERE for live updates

  1. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 45.409s [Lap 10/11] 311km/h (Top Speed)
  2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 45.680s +0.271s [Lap 11/11] 305k
  3. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 45.797s +0.388s [Lap 6/11] 310k
  4. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 45.944s +0.535s [Lap 5/10] 307k
  5. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 45.963s +0.554s [Lap 7/11] 305k
  6. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 46.128s +0.719s [Lap 10/11] 305k
  7. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 46.133s +0.724s [Lap 11/11] 308k
  8. Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 46.312s +0.903s [Lap 10/11] 307k
  9. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 46.360s +0.951s [Lap 12/12] 306k
  10. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 46.458s +1.049s [Lap 10/11] 303k
  11. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 46.592s +1.183s [Lap 9/9] 306k
  12. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 46.625s +1.216s [Lap 8/11] 304k
  13. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 46.666s +1.257s [Lap 5/10] 310k
  14. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 46.682s +1.273s [Lap 7/11] 301k
  15. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 1m 46.688s +1.279s [Lap 11/11] 302k
  16. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 46.734s +1.325s [Lap 7/11] 302k
  17. Katsuyuki Nakasuga JPN Yamaha Factory (YZR-M1) 1m 46.823s +1.414s [Lap 7/10] 303k
  18. Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP17)* 1m 46.863s +1.454s [Lap 11/11] 302k
  19. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 46.891s +1.482s [Lap 6/11] 306k
  20. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 47.114s +1.705s [Lap 5/5] 306k
  21. Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 47.355s +1.946s [Lap 6/7] 304k
  22. Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 47.475s +2.066s [Lap 10/11] 303k
  23. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 47.742s +2.333s [Lap 9/9] 306k
  24. Jordi Torres SPA Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 47.784s +2.375s [Lap 6/11] 305k
  25. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 48.111s +2.702s [Lap 3/4] 298k

Pole position time:
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati 1m 44.590s

Official Motegi MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 43.790s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 45.350s (2015)


By Peter McLaren