Rins wins the British MotoGP at Silverstone by 0.013s after a thrilling last-turn pass on Marquez.

The Suzuki rider spent most of the race shadowing Marquez, only briefly taking the lead until he cut under the Honda rider at the last possible moment,  through the fast Woodcote corner. Vinales completed the podium after steadily edging closer to the leading duo, but running out of laps.

It was the second time in as many races that Marquez has been beaten at the final corner, after Dovizioso in Austria.

But the Ducati rider didn't get beyond turn one after a scary incident saw rookie star Quartararo highside, with his fallen bike then wiping out Dovizioso, Marquez nearest title rival. The Italian, whose bike burst into flames after being launched into the air, was initially taken away on a stretcher before eventually standing up.

Zarco collided with fellow KTM rider Oliveira while trying to pass, taking them both out.

Silverstone was resurfaced following last year's rain cancellation, with four different front and rear tyre compounds to choose from this weekend. Lorenzo was making his return from back fractures at Assen, with Mir still absent after lung damage in the Brno test and replaced by Suzuki test rider Guintoli.

Mir aims to return at this week's Misano test.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

British MotoGP - Race Results
1Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)40m 12.799s
2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.013s
3Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.620s
4Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+11.439s
5Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+13.109s
6Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+19.169s
7Danilo PetrucciITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)+19.682s
8Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+20.318s
9Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+21.079s
10Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+25.144s
11Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+40.317s
12Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+45.478s
13Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+54.783s
14Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+56.651s
15Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+89.282s
16Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+91.716s
17Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+100.420s
 Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)DNF
 Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*DNF
 Johann ZarcoFRARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)DNF
 Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*DNF
 Andrea DoviziosoITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)DNF

* Rookie.