World champion Marquez wins the 2019 Valencia MotoGP season finale, handing Repsol Honda the teams' world title and completing the triple crown for HRC.

After working his way past early leader Quartararo, Marquez kept clear of the star rookie, with Miller completing the podium for Ducati.

Five-time world champion Lorenzo finished 13th in his final MotoGP event before retirement, as team-mate Marquez's twelfth win (and 18th podium) of the season allowed Repsol to comfortably overturn a two-point deficit to Ducati.

Petrucci, Zarco and Lecuona fell moments apart at Turn 6. In insolation, they would have been harmless front-end falls, but it turned nasty when Lecuona's sliding bike wiped out Zarco as he was walking away, literally flipping the Frenchman off his feet.

Zarco, making his final appearance for LCR Honda and the subject of intense speculation over his future, was carried away on a stretcher. Thankfully, he was soon seen back in the LCR pits, clearly still in pain but apparently without serious harm.

2020 MotoGP rookie Lecuona had been doing an impressive job during an early Tech3 KTM debut, in place of the injured Miguel Oliveira.

Francesco Bagnaia was ruled unfit after an accident at the end of pit-lane in FP3.

A two-day official test takes place at Valencia on Tuesday and Wednesday.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Valencia MotoGP - Race Results
1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)41m 21.469s
2Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+1.026s
3Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)+2.409s
4Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+3.326s
5Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+3.508s
6Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+8.829s
7Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+10.622s
8Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+22.992s
9Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+32.704s
10Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+32.973s
11Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+42.795s
12Mika KallioFINRed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+45.732s
13Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+51.044s
14Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)+64.871s
15Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+76.487s
 Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)DNF
 Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)DNF
 Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)DNF
 Johann ZarcoFRALCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*DNF
 Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)DNF
 Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP19)DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...