Vinales fastest during a delayed opening practice for the 2020 Aragon MotoGP.

The session was postponed by 30-minutes due to the cold morning temperatures, but conditions were still borderline. 

Zarco fell soon after the action began, with Vinales then saving a front-end lock-up at the same Turn 14 before Marquez fell at Turn 2.

The closing ten minutes saw spills for Lecuona (turn 2) and early leader Morbidelli (Turn 14) before title leader Quartararo suffered a very fast lowside as he braked for Turn 8, another right-hander, at the very end of the session. The Frenchman walked away with a slight limp.

The Ducatis, in particular, played it safe after struggling to generate heat in the tyres.

Valentino Rossi has been forced to miss this weekend's event after a positive Covid test on Thursday. The Italian is also expected to miss next weekend's second Aragon round.

HRC test rider Bradl is again replacing injured reigning world champion Marc Marquez.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Aragon MotoGP, MotorLand - Free Practice (1) Results
1Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'49.866s11/17344k
2Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.085s14/14341k
3Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.276s16/20342k
4Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+0.310s14/14344k
5Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.554s20/20340k
6Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.559s18/19343k
7Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.598s14/16346k
8Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.732s9/11346k
9Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.855s16/19343k
10Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.935s19/19342k
11Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*+1.107s17/17344k
12Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)+1.353s14/14347k
13Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.375s7/14345k
14Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.419s16/18342k
15Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)+1.474s18/19341k
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+1.491s16/17344k
17Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)+1.542s15/15348k
18Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.576s9/10342k
19Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)+1.715s18/19343k
20Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)+1.941s15/15345k
21Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)+2.068s17/17350k

* Rookie.
Official Aragon MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda1m 46.635s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha1m 48.120s (201)

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...