Rookie Pedro Acosta is the 2021 Moto3 world champion after last-lap drama in the penultimate Portimao round.

Starting just 14th on the grid, Acosta passed title rival and race leader Foggia into the Turn 3 hairpin on the final lap.

Foggia's title hopes ended moments later when he was rammed from behind by Darryn Binder, who had been trying to pass Sergio Garcia just behind.

Binder, moving to MotoGP next season, tried to apologise to Foggia after the race but was firmly told to leave the Leopard garage.

The South African was subsequently disqualified from the final results by the FIM Stewards for 'irresponsible riding'.

Algarve Moto3 Grand Prix, Portimao - Race Results
1Pedro AcostaSPARed Bull KTM Ajo(KTM)38m 4.339s
2Andrea MignoITARivacold Snipers Team(Honda)38m 4.693s
3Niccolò AntonelliITAAvintia VR46(KTM)38m 5.219s
4Jeremy AlcobaSPAIndonesian Racing Gresini Moto3(Honda)38m 6.107s
5Izan GuevaraSPAMuchoNeumatico GASGAS Aspar Team(GASGAS)38m 6.178s
6Ayumu SasakiJPNRed Bull KTM Tech 3(KTM)38m 6.213s
7Romano FenatiITASterilgarda Max Racing Team(Husqvarna)38m 6.311s
8Xavier ArtigasSPALeopard Racing(Honda)38m 6.672s
9Tatsuki SuzukiJPNSIC58 Squadra Corse(Honda)38m 7.762s
10Filip SalacCZECarXpert PruestelGP(KTM)38m 10.930s
11Adrian FernandezSPASterilgarda Max Racing Team(Husqvarna)38m 11.279s
12Carlos TataySPAAvintia Esponsorama Moto3(KTM)38m 13.731s
13Daniel HolgadoSPARed Bull KTM Tech 3(KTM)38m 14.269s
14Joel KelsoAUSCIP Green Power(KTM)38m 14.335s
15Alberto SurraITARivacold Snipers Team(Honda)38m 14.755s
16Stefano NepaITABOE Owlride(KTM)38m 15.989s
17Lorenzo FellonFRASIC58 Squadra Corse(Honda)38m 16.034s
18Riccardo RossiITABOE Owlride(KTM)38m 16.075s
19Jaume MasiaSPARed Bull KTM Ajo(KTM)38m 17.955s
20Yuki KuniiJPNHonda Team Asia(Honda)38m 34.340s
21Ryusei YamanakaJPNCarXpert PruestelGP(KTM)38m 34.522s
22Andi Farid IzdiharINAHonda Team Asia(Honda)38m 34.588s
 Kaito TobaJPNCIP Green Power(KTM)DNF 
 Dennis FoggiaITALeopard Racing(Honda)DNF 
 Sergio GarciaSPAMuchoNeumatico GASGAS Aspar Team(GASGAS)DNF 
 John McPheeGBRPetronas Sprinta Racing(Honda)DNF 
 Darryn BinderRSAPetronas Sprinta Racing(Honda)DSQ