The Gatorade 125 Qualifying races are held today. This is how the drivers line-up for the races which will determine positions 3 to 30 in this weekend's Daytona 500.

First Qualifying Race:
1 Jimmie Johnson
2 Jeff Gordon
3 Ward Burton
4 Terry Labonte
5 Bill Elliott
6 Mike Wallace
7 Dale Jarrett
8 Ricky Rudd
9 Bobby Hamilton
10 Dale Earnhardt Jr
11 Brett Bodine
12 Ken Schrader
13 Sterling Marlin
14 Joe Nemechek
15 Geoffrey Bodine
16 Hut Stricklin
17 Mark Martin
18 Ryan Newman
19 Johnny Benson
20 Elliott Sadler
21 Rick Mast
22 Kurt Busch
23 Ricky Craven
24 Matt Kenseth
25 Carl Long
26 Kyle Petty
27 Kirk Shelmerdine

2nd Qualifying Race:
1 Kevin Harvick
2 Robert Pressley
3 Robby Gordon
4 Michael Waltrip
5 Jeff Green
6 Bobby Labonte
7 Jerry Nadeau
8 Jeremy Mayfield
9 Kenny Wallace
10 Tony Stewart
11 Dave Marcis
12 John Andretti
13 Jeff Burton
14 Casey Atwood
15 Shawna Robinson
16 Rusty Wallace
17 Todd Bodine
18 Dave Blaney
19 Greg Biffle
20 Stacy Compton
21 Buckshot Jones
22 Jimmy Spencer
23 Bobby Gerhart
24 Hermie Sadler
25 Mike Skinner
26 Norm Benning

These races are just one part of how to make the field for the Daytona 500. It's not a simple process. The NASCAR Winston Cup timed qualifying was held on Saturday. Each team ran two laps with the best time of the two setting the qualifying time. The two fastest qualifiers set positions one and two and are the only guaranteed starters, filling the front row for the Daytona 500.

The Gatorade 125 Qualifying races are held today, and will determine positions 3 through 30. The drivers who posted the odd-number rankings in the qualifying rounds will compete in the first race which will set the inside row for the Daytona 500. The even-number rankings from the timed-qualifying will compete in the second Gatorade 125 and set the outside row.

The highest finisher of the first Gatorade 125, once the Bud Pole winner is removed from the equation, will start third in the Daytona 500, the next-highest finisher will start fifth and so on through 29th position. The highest finisher of the second Gatorade 125, once the second-place qualifier is removed form the equation, will start fourth in the Daytona 500, the second-highest finisher sixth and so on through 30th position. In the event of cancellation, the top 30 positions will be set according to the NASCAR Winston Cup Rule Book.

Starting positions 31 through 36 are determined by qualifying speeds set in one of two rounds of qualifying. The 30 cars in the field will be removed from the equation with the cars with the fastest official qualifying speeds filling the remaining six positions.

Starting positions 37 through 42 are provisionals, assigned starting with the car owner ranked highest in the 2001 NASCAR Winston Cup car owner point standings who did not qualify for positions 1 through 36 and assigned in descending order until all provisional spots are filled.

Starting position 43 is Provisionally assigned to any car owner who has the current or a past NASCAR Winston Cup Champion driver who participated as a driver in the 2001 NASCAR Winston Cup season, failed to qualify for one of the first 36 starting positions and did not receive a provisional starting spot from the above procedures. The most recent past champion driver not assigned a position will then receive this starting spot. If the 43rd position remains unused it will be assigned to the next eligible owner.