Elliott Sadler's pit crew captured its fifth victory of the season by taking top honours in the McDonald's Drive-Thru Pit Championship fueled by POWERade in Sunday's Pop Secret 500 at California Speedway in Fontana.

The #38 crew, which paced Sadler to victory at California and a spot in the Chase for the Nextel Cup, has earned $100,000 in McDonald's/POWERade prize money and leads all crews with five season victories.

As a result of the California win, Sadler's crew moved into first place in the season standings with 889 points, eight more than the second-place crew for Dale Earnhardt Jr. The two teams have been waging a season-long battle for the McDonald's/POWERade lead and the 200,000 champion's bonus that will be paid out at the awards banquet in New York City.

Sadler's M&M's Robert Yates Racing Ford spent the least amount of time on pit road at California Speedway - 284.837 seconds. Coming in second was Joe Nemechek's #01 U.S. Army Chevrolet with a time of 290.866. Jamie McMurray's Texaco/Havoline Dodge was third at 292.925.

"Our entire organisation is extremely proud of our win in the Pop Secret 500," said Eddie D'Hondt, general manager of Robert Yates Racing. "You have to admire the outstanding effort our M&M's 'Chocolate Thunder' pit crew put forth this week to put Elliott in position to drive his way to victory. The McDonald's/POWERade Drive-Thru Pit Championship has been an ongoing battle for these guys and they have responded to the challenge all year long. They are the best and they have played a big part in the success the Robert Yates Racing #38 team has enjoyed throughout this year."

Sadler's over-the-wall crew consists of: Darryl Lockyer (front-tyre changer), Kevin Hall (front-tyre carrier), Dave Smith (rear-tyre changer/car chief), Lance Hanna (rear-tyre carrier), Rodney Fetters (jackman), Preston Cordell (gas man) and Jay Thompson (catch can). The team's crew chief is Todd Parrott.



Loading Comments...