The official entry list for the Daytona 500 has been released, with 42 drivers vying for the 40 starting positions in the race. Earlier today Daytona International Speedway announced that the 64th Great American Race is officially sold out.

Two drivers will fail to qualify for the race, and six are with teams that do not have a charter and must qualify. Those drivers are Jacques Villeneuve (Team Hezeberg No. 27), Greg Biffle (NY Racing Team No. 44), Kaz Grala (TMT Racing No. 50), JJ Yeley (Motorsports Business Management No. 55), Noah Gragson (Beard Motorsports No. 62), and Timmy Hill (Motorsports Business Management No. 66).

Click: 64th Annual Daytona 500 Entry List

Cup Series practice begins tomorrow at 5:05 PM ET and will run for 50 minutes. A second 50-minute practice session starts at 6:35 with both airing on FS1. Qualifying begins at 8:30 on Wednesday night with the top two speeds among the six open cars getting guaranteed spots into the race joining the 36 chartered teams. That leaves two open spots for four cars in Thursday night's Duel races.

The 36 chartered that have guaranteed starting spots next Sunday are:

  • Hendrick Motorsports (Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott, William Byron, Alex Bowman)
  • Joe Gibbs Racing (Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr., Christopher Bell)
  • Stewart-Haas Racing (Kevin Harvick, Aric Almirola, Chase Briscoe, Cole Custer)
  • Team Penske (Austin Cindric, Ryan Blaney, Joey Logano)
  • Roush Fenway Racing (Brad Keselowski, Chris Buescher)
  • Richard Childress Racing (Austin Dillon, Tyler Reddick)
  • Trackhouse Racing (Ross Chastain, Daniel Suarez)
  • Front Row Motorsports (Michael McDowell, Todd Gilliland)
  • 23XI Racing (Bubba Wallace, Kurt Busch)
  • Kaulig Racing (Daniel Hemric, Justin Haley)
  • Petty GMS Racing (Ty Dillon, Erik Jones)
  • Spire Sports (Corey LaJoie, Landon Cassill)
  • Wood Brothers (Harrison Burton)
  • JTG Daugherty Racing (Ricky Stenhouse Jr)
  • Live Fast Motorsports (BJ McLeod)
  • Rick Ware Racing (David Ragan, Cody Ware)

There are several key storylines to monitor during Speedweeks, mostly centered around the Next Gen car. While there has been plenty of testing, teams still do not have a firm grasp on how drafting will play out. Tandem drafting was a thing of the past, but may present itself again this year. These smaller test sessions at Daytona could not truly simulate what a pack of 40 cars will look like over the course of 500 miles.

Pit stops will also be much different this year with a single lug nut on the wheels. They will look different, and will certainly be quicker but some of the smaller teams that haven't been able to practice this could be at a disadvantage. That being said, there have been a handful of surprise winners since 2010 such as Jamie McMurray, Trevor Bayne, Austin Dillon, and McDowell last year. That trend could continue with all of these new variables in play.

There will also be plenty of big-name drivers searching for their first taste of victory in the Daytona 500. Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski, Martin Truex Jr, Kyle Larson, and Chase Elliott are all still chasing that elusive Harley J. Earl trophy. There are only seven drivers on the entry list this year that have a Daytona 500 win to their name.