NASCAR Championship: Full Driver Standings After Bristol Dirt

A look at the current playoff standings after Christopher Bell’s win in the Bristol dirt race.
Kyle Larson, Hendrick Motorsports
Kyle Larson, Hendrick Motorsports

Following his win on the dirt at Bristol Motor Speedway, Christopher Bell has secured himself a spot in the playoffs. Bell also takes over the overall lead in the drivers championship standings, surpassing Ross Chastain for the top spot. Kevin Harvick remains in third after his 9th place finish on Sunday night.

The biggest mover in the overall standings was Tyler Reddick, who continues his climb into the top five. The 23XI Racing driver had a slow start to the season, but he has picked up some serious momentum over the last month or so. He is just ahead of Kyle Busch in the standings, who is now driving his old No. 8 Chevrolet for Richard Childress Racing.

NASCAR Championship: Full Driver Standings After Bristol Dirt

There have been seven different winners through the first eight races of the season, with William Byron being the only multiple winner in the bunch. Six different teams have also earned wins, with Hendrick Motorsports as the only organization with multiple winners in Byron and Kyle Larson.

Another playoff spot could be for the taking next weekend at Martinsville, with a host of worthy candidates. Denny Hamlin leads all active drivers with five wins at the "paperclip" with teammate Martin Truex Jr holding three victories of his own. If Bell can carry his momentum into next weekend, Joe Gibbs Racing could once again be the team to beat.

2023 NASCAR Cup Series Playoff Standings
Pos Driver Team Race Wins
1William ByronHendrick Motorsports2
2Kyle BuschRichard Childress Racing1
3Joey LoganoTeam Penske1
4Tyler Reddick23XI Racing1
5Ricky Stenhouse JrJTG Daugherty Racing1
6Kyle LarsonHendrick Motorsports1
7Christopher BellJoe Gibbs Racing1
8Ross ChastainTrackHouse Racing0
9Kevin HarvickStewart Haas Racing0
10Ryan BlaneyTeam Penske0
11Austin CindricTeam Penske0
12Martin Truex JrJoe Gibbs Racing0
13Brad KeselowskiRFK Racing0
14Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs Racing0
15Chris BuescherRFK Racing0
16Daniel SuarezTrackHouse Racing0

Read More