The organisers of the BP Ultimate Acropolis Rally of Greece have announced that they will commemorate the life of Colin McRae by handing out a special trophy this season.

A statement to the media explained:

"The Colin McRae trophy will be awarded to the crew who achieve the highest average speed among all the participants - and all stages, excluding the super specials."

McRae, who was tragically killed last year in a helicopter crash, was the most success WRC driver on the Greek event, winning it five times in total - twice with an Impreza in 1996 and 1998 and three times in succession with a Focus RS WRC car in 2000, 2001 and 2002.

McRae meanwhile was also remembered on the Uddeholm Swedish Rally earlier this season, with a prize given out for the longest jump at 'Colin's Crest'. BP Ford Abu Dhabi World Rally Team 'third' driver Khalid Al Qassimi took the honours on that event, when he jumped his Focus RS WRC car 36 metres.

The Acropolis Rally, the seventh round in the 2008 World Rally Championship, takes place at the end of this month, running from May 29 to June 1.