Kevin Abbring has been declared the Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy Driver of the Year, it has been confirmed.

The Peugeot Rally Academy pilot was one of a number of drivers considered for the prize after several standout performances in this year's FIA European Rally Championship.

Although he never managed an outright victory due to considerable bad luck, he scored 21 stage bests, two podiums - including one last weekend in Corscia - and also earned the Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy in Acores and Ypres, having led four rallies outright.

The Dutchman, who is considering a return to the ERC in 2015, follows in the wheel tracks of last year's winner Bryan Bouffier.