Toprak Razgatlioglu leads the way after getting the better of team-mate Andrea Locatelli during World Superbike FP1 at Misano. 

2022 World Superbike Misano, Italy - Free Practice Results (1)
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK1:34.603s
2Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+0.241s
3Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.264s
4Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.360s
5Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+0.477s
6Iker LecuonaSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+0.483s
7Xavi ViergeSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+0.493s
8Alvaro BautistaSPAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.769s
9Philipp OettlGERGoEleven Ducati+1.038s
10Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+1.134s
11Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+1.153s
12Scott ReddingGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+1.202s
13Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMW+1.389s
14Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMW+1.432s
15Christophe PonssonFRAGil Motor Sport Yamaha+1.492s
16Hafizh SyahrinMALMIE Honda Racing+2.011s
17Gabriele RuiuITABmax Racing+2.259s
18Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+2.375s
19Tito RabatSPAPuccetti Kawasaki+2.595s
20Luca BernardiSMBarni Spark Ducati Team+3.328s
21Oliver KonigCZEOrelac Racing Kawasaki+3.601s
22Ilya MychalchykUKRBMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+4.154s
23Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda Racing+4.255s
24Alesandro DelbiancoITAPedercini Kawasaki+4.290s
25Roberto TamburiniITAMotoxracing Yamaha WorldSBK Team+9.651s

With rain expected for FP1, track conditions instead remained dry as Jonathan Rea and Toprak Razgatlioglu could only be separated by +0.005s after their initial flying laps. 

As the only riders under the 1m 36s barrier, Rea further extended his lead over Razgatlioglu after setting a time of 1:35.489s - 0.333s clear off the reigning world champion. 

As two-time Misano race winner (2021) Michael Rinaldi joined the fun at the front, Razgatlioglu set a blistering time of 1:34.975s to go fastest by three tenths from the Ducati rider. 

Isle of Man TT races - The big debate

Making their return from injury, Garrett Gerloff and Philipp Oettl both made impressive starts to FP1 with the latter settling into fourth place.

Competing at their home round, Ducati’s pace was evident as Rinaldi, Oettl, Axel Bassani and championship leader Alvaro Bautista occupied positions 2-6 early on.  

As the opening stints came to a close, Rea jumped back to the top of the leaderboard by a tenth. 

With rain eventually falling around mid-session, track action became limited until the final 15 minutes. 

In what was a crucial session for Scott Redding and BMW given their poor start to the season, FP1 soon turned into a disaster for the former MotoGP rider as Redding failed to set a flying lap until 10 minutes were remaining. 

Electronics issues were the cause for Redding missing out on most of FP1, similar issues that cost Michael Van Der Mark at times in 2021.

Regarding Van Der Mark, the Dutch rider remains sidelined for this weekend and is being replaced by World Endurance rider Ilya Mychalchyk. 

As Bassani went third quickest late on, Rea was once again demoted to second as Razgatlioglu bounced back with a time of 1:34.603s.

Misano World Superbike Records

Fastest ever lap - Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing Team 1:33.416s (2021)

Fastest Race lap - Michael Ruben Rinaldi ITA Ducati 1:34.356s (2021) 

2021 Race Winners 

Race 1 - Michael Ruben Rinaldi ITA Ducati

Superpole Race - Michael Ruben Rinaldi ITA Ducati

Race 2 - Toprak Razgatlioglu TUR Pata Yamaha

World Superbike Misano schedule 


09:30-10:15 - Free Practice 1 

14:00-14:45 - Free Practice 2 


08:00-08:30 - Free Practice 3 

10:10-10:25 - Superpole 

13:00 Race 1


08:00-08:15 Warm-up 

10:00 Superpole Race 

14:15 Race 2