Jonathan Rea claims 100th WorldSBK win during the opening race of 2021 at MotorLand Aragon. 

WorldSBK Aragon, Spain - Race Results (1)
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team18 Laps
2Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team+3.965
3Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha+4.008
4Scott ReddingGBRAruba.It Ducati+4.242
5Chaz DaviesGBRGoEleven Ducati+4.615
6Tom SykesGBRMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+6.784
7Michael Ruben RinaldiITAAruba.It Ducati+8.345
8Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRC+10.187
9Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha+10.326
10Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha+17.693
11Michael Van Der MarkNEDMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+21.154
12Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+27.523
13Isaac VinalesSPAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+30.963
14Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+36.769
15Lucas MahiasFRAKawasaki Puccetti+39.334
16Jonas FolgerGERBenovo BMW+41.544
17Christophe PonssonFRAGil Yamaha+43.179
18Loris CressonBELPedercini Kawasaki+1'21.460
19Alvaro BautistaSPATeam HRCDNF
20Eugene LavertyIRLRC Squadra Corse BMWDNF
21Samuele CavalieriITAPedercini KawasakiDNF
22Leandro MercardoARGMIE Honda RacingDNF
23Tito RabatSPABarni DucatiDNF

Rea dominated the 18 lap race by leading from start to finish, while a brilliant battle for second saw Alex Lowes pip Toprak Razgatlioglu over the line for second.

The pair exchanged second place several times over the final two laps with Lowes looking to exploit his seemingly better rear grip. However, Razgatlioglu defended the inside line coming down the kilometer long straight and out-braked the Brit heading into the double left-hander.

But while the Yamaha rider emerged from turn 17 slightly in front, Lowes did indeed use the drive of his Ninja ZX-10RR to ultimately cross the line first.

The third place finish for Razgatlioglu saw him come from tenth on the grid after losing four spots in qualifying for exceeding track limits. 

Scott Redding put in a late race charge to claim fourth ahead of former team-mate Chaz Davies.

There were a raft of technical issues for riders including Tito Rabat, Leandro Mercado, Samuele Cavalieri and Eugene Laverty who all retired from race one. 

Alvaro Bautista was the lone crasher of the opening race as the Spaniard fell at turn two with only three laps remaining. 

Official WorldSBK records 

Lap Record: 

Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing Team 1m 48.458s

Most Wins: 

Chaz Davies GBR GoEleven Ducati 7 victories