Scott Redding finished WorldSBK FP1 at Assen fastest in what was an impressive opening session for Ducati. 

WorldSBK Assen, Netherlands - Free Practice Results (1)
1Scott ReddingGBRAruba.It Ducati1:34.591s
2Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team+0.078s
3Chaz DaviesGBRGoEleven Ducati+0.380s
4Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Ducati+0.428s
5Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha+0.459s
6Tom SykesGBRMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+0.526s
7Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha+0.559s
8Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRC+0.582s
9Lucas MahiasFRAKawasaki Puccetti+0.688s
10Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha+0.725s
11Michael Van Der MarkNEDMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+0.729s
12Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team+0.876s
13Jonas FolgerGERBenovo BMW+0.939s
14Tito RabatSPABarni Ducati+1.090s
15Alvaro BautistaSPATeam HRC+1.433s
16Isaac VinalesSPAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.544s
17Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+1.768s
18Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+2.061s
19Leandro MercardoARGMIE Honda Racing+2.522s
20Andrea MantovaniITAVince64 Racing kawasaki+2.555s
21Loris CressonBELPedercini Kawasaki+4.404s

The top three in the championship - Toprak Razgatlioglu, Jonathan Rea and Redding, locked out the front three positions with Chaz Davies fourth for much of FP1, however, it was Redding who looked strongest. 

The Ducati man was the only rider able to break the 1m 34s barrier during the opening two stints. 

With 12 minutes remaining, Davies was next to break into the 1m 34s barrier as he went second behind Redding. 

Michael Rinaldi then made it a 1-2-3 for the Italian manufacturer, before Rea managed to grab second place +0.078s down on Redding. 

Leandro Mercado finally made his return to action with MIE Racing Honda after being absent since the opening round in Aragon. Chassis and Electronic upgrades were needed in order for the Argentine to return to racing. 

After missing round four due to injury, GRT Yamaha rider Kohta Nozane was back in action during FP1. 

Wildcard rider Andrea Mantovani made his WorldSBK debut with VInce64 Racing aboard a Kawasaki ZX10-RR. 

Jonathan Rea holds the most wins at Assen of all current riders (7), while Alvaro Bautista is the last rider to win in WorldSBK at the Dutch circuit (2019).