Here’s a closer look at the confirmed riders for the 2022 Bennetts British Superbike championship, along with what seats are left to be filled.


Defending champions McAMS Yamaha will remain unchanged in 2022 after confirming 2021 champion Tarran Mackenzie and Jason O’Halloran next season. 

Mackenzie was linked with a switch to WorldSBK earlier in the year, however, potential options with Yamaha and GoEleven didn’t come to fruition. 

Instead a move in 2023 looks likely for the Scottish rider who also has three wildcard rounds confirmed for 2022. 

After achieving his best BSB season in 2021 (11 wins), O’Halloran will be hoping to go even better and take the crown away from his younger team-mate in what will be his fourth consecutive season with McAMS next year. 

Rich Energy OMG Racing’ switch from BMW machinery to Yamaha has seen them go forward with an unchanged line-up of Bradley Ray and Kyle Ryde for 2022. 


The Italian manufacturer has the least number of riders confirmed of any as it stands. 

2021 championship runner-up Tommy Bridewell will be returning for the Oxford Products Ducati Racing outfit, while the Visiontrack Ducati team is yet to announce their plans. 

Josh Brookes and Christian Iddon are sure to return to BSB in 2022, but it remains to be seen whether that’s with the Visiontrack team. 

Big names such as Tom Sykes and Leon Haslam could be in contention for the ride as well as they look set for futures away from WorldSBK.


The two most successful BMW riders of 2021 Peter Hickman and Danny Buchan will be returning to their respective teams in 2022.

Both riders had two wins last season on their way to fifth and seventh place championship finishes. 

Joining Hickman at FHO Racing BMW will be Ryan Vickers, while Andrew Irwin keeps his place alongside Buchan at SYNETIQ. 


The team to announce their plans before anyone else was FS-3 Kawasaki who will be keeping the same line-up of Lee Jackson and Rory Skinner. 

And while it remains early to say this, Skinner could be looking at his last season in BSB should he perform well as Moto2 rumours, in particular a move to American Racing has been touted for 2023. 

Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki have changed from a one-rider line-up to two for next year as Josh Owens returns alongside new BSB rookie Liam Delves. 


Honda have the most riders already in place for next season, along with the largest rider contingency for one specific team. 

Honda Racing UK have extended their three-rider 2021 line-up to four for next season. Glenn Irwin, Takumi Takahashi and Ryo Mizuno have all been confirmed to return, while Tom Neave will also be part of the team. 

Luke Mossey makes his return to BSB with TAG Racing Honda, while Luke Hopkins will go into his second full-time BSB season with the same Black Onyx Security Honda team. 


Finally, Bjorn Estment was confirmed for a second season with Powerslide Catfoss Racing Suzuki over the weekend. 

The big one for Suzuki will be what happens with their Buildbase Suzuki rider line-up. Gino Rea and Danny Kent were the team’s riders last season. 

Current 2022 British Superbike grid

McAMS Yamaha: Tarran Mackenzie/Jason O’Halloran

Visiontrack Ducati: TBA

SYNETIQ BMW Motorrad: Danny Buchan/Andre Irwin

FHO Racing BMW: Peter Hickman/Ryan Vickers

FS-3 Kawasaki: Lee Jackson/Rory Skinner

Buildbase Suzuki: TBA

Honda Racing UK: Glenn Irwin/Takumi Takahashi/Ryo Mizuno/Tom Neave

Oxford Products Ducati Racing: Tommy Bridewell

Rich Energy OMG Racing: Bradley Ray/Kyle Ryde

TAG Honda Racing: Luke Mossey

Rapid CDH Racing Kawasaki: Josh Owens/Liam Delves

Black Onyx Security Honda: Luke Hopkins

Powerslide Catfoss Racing Suzuki: Bjorn Estment