Former champions Steve Hislop and John Reynolds continued their private battle for the British Superbike Championship as they each enjoyed a victory in a dramatic double race eleventh round at Mallory Park.

Reynolds bounced back from a heavy crash in Saturday qualifying in which he sustained left ankle ligament injuries as he high sided off his Red Bull Ducati, but, despite a second row start, he was running in the leading bunch on the opening lap.

James Haydon took charge, and had powered his Virgin Mobile Aiwa Yamaha into a three seconds lead with four laps remaining only to tumble out of the action at the Esses.

''I overdid it. It was a silly mistake," admitted a devastated Haydon.

Reynolds could not believe his good fortune as he charged through to take his tenth victory of the campaign, ahead of his team-mate Sean Emmett, with the MonsterMob Ducati of Hislop slowed by lack of grip and in third place.

''This time yesterday I was having an x-ray on a suspected broken leg, but here I am winning. I arrived here thinking of a damage limitation exercise, scoring points with maybe fifth of sixth placings, but this is a great result,'' said Reynolds, but the champion of 1992 was not able to maintain the pace in the second 28-lap race at the Leicestershire circuit, slipping back to fifth place.

Hislop moved ahead of Paul Brown on the third lap of race two and then held off the Lincolnshire-rider's determined challenge to take his twelth victory in a race that provided some consolation for Haydon who finished third.

Hislop extended his lead over Reynolds to 25-points, as they head for the double race penultimate round at Rockingham on Sunday 30 September.

Series-leader Karl Harris took Mallory Park victory in the British Supersport action. John Crockford took victory in the Superstock race, while Ben Wilson enjoyed the race win in the Junior British Superstock class. Adrian Coates took 250cc honours with Leon Camier again leading the 125cc race to victory.

BSB Championship points after round 11:
1. Steve HISLOP 475
2. John REYNOLDS 450
3. James HAYDON 272
4. Sean EMMETT 266
5. Paul BROWN 208
6. John CRAWFORD 197
7. Michael RUTTER 185
8. Shane BYRNE 175
9. Jamie ROBINSON 129
10. Lee JACKSON 112
11. Steve PLATER 96
12. Dean ELLISON 72
13. Dave WOOD 68
14. Gordon BLACKLEY 65
15. Nigel NOTTINGHAM 61
16. Mark BURR 52
17. Jason DAVIS 51
18. Paul JONES 38
19. Niall MacKENZIE 24
20. Steve MARKS 21
21. Francis WILLIAMSON 13
22. Dave REDGATE 10
23. Jamie MORLEY 9
24. Brett SAMPSON 9
25. Peter BERWICK 9
26. Paul A JONES 2.



Loading Comments...