Jason O’Halloran completes his second BSB clean-sweep of 2021 with race three victory at Thruxton. 

2021 British Superbike, Thruxton - Race Results (3)
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Ymaha20 Laps
2Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+0.826s
3Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+1.008s
4Ryan VickersGBRRAF Kawasaki+3.809s
5Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+10.310s
6Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+12.551s
7Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Ymaha+12.791s
8Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+18.912s
9Christian IddonGBRVisiontrack Ducati+19.881s
10Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+21.975s
11Gine ReaGBRBuildbase Suzuki+28.442s
12Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+31.474s
13Dan LinfootGBRTAG Racing Honda+32.457s
14Josh BrookesAUSVisiontrack Ducati+38.625s
15Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Kawasaki+39.176s
16Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+40.790s
17Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Racing Kawasaki+1:08.243s
18Tommy BridewellGBRMoto Rapido Ducati+1:09.574s
19Joe FrancisGBRIforce BMW+1:14.745s
20Bjorn EstmentSACatfoss Racing Suzuki+1:15.872s
21Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+1:18.193s
22Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+1:18.399s
23Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiDNF
24Xavi ForesSPAFHO Racing BMWDNF
25Brian McCormackIRLFHO Racing BMWDNF
26Luke HopkinsGBRHopkins Honda RacingDNF

Having made the decision to start on a wet front and rear tyre, Peter Hickman gained six spots on the opening two laps in order to lead race three from Tarran Mackenzie - also on full wets. 

Pole sitter O’Halloran had an intermediate rear fitted which took longer to get up to speed, however, the championship leader quickly hauled the leading duo in on lap six as conditions dried. 

O’Halloran and Danny Buchan both came through on Mackenzie on lap seven, before doing the same on leader Peter Hickman on lap nine. The lead then changed hands for the fifth time as Buchan got past O’Halloran one lap later. 

O’Halloran regained the advantage two laps later, which proved to be the race-winning move. 

Meanwhile, in the battle for third, Danny Kent and Ryan Vickers both used their intermediate rear to come through on Mackenzie and Hickman who both dropped down the order due to losing grip on the full wets. Kent came over the line in third for his first ever BSB podium. 

Race Two

Jason O’Halloran has claimed the Bennetts British Superbike championship lead for the third time this season after clinching his second win from two at Thruxton. 

After dicing with Glenn Irwin on the opening lap, O’Halloran held a consistent margin of three tenths over the Honda rider, while Lee Jackson was unable to stay with the pair. 

That gap gradually extended itself to around one second as the Australian controlled things out front. 

In the battle for third, Jackson then came under pressure from a fast charging Ryan Vickers who duly got ahead of the FS-3 Kawasaki man on lap six. 

Championship leader Christian Iddon quickly followed the RAF Reserves Kawasaki rider through on Jackson, before inheriting third as Vickers was given a long-lap penalty due to missing the final chicane and not losing enough time upon rejoining.  

On lap 10 there was huge drama regarding the title battle as Jackson and Iddon both crashed. The incident was caused by Jackson running into the rear of Iddon’s Ducati at Campbell (turn 3).

With only four laps to go, Irwin suddenly dropped back into the clutches of Vickers, Bradley Ray and Tarran Mackenzie after suffering with rear grip. Mackenzie ended up claiming second ahead of Irwin, while Vickers crashed on the final lap.  

Race One

Jason O’Halloran led every lap of race one at Thruxton to claim his fifth win of the 2021 Bennetts British Superbike season. 

It was a scheduled 15 lap race that saw a safety car introduced after just three corners, along with a red flag on the penultimate lap due to Glenn Irwin’ crash. 

Irwin was on course for his first podium of the season after making his way past Peter Hickman on lap 13, however, the Northern Irishman lost the rear while following Christian Iddon which saw his Honda Fireblade remain stranded in the middle of the circuit. 

O’Halloran’s win sees the championship gap reduced to just one point in Iddon’s favour ahead of tomorrow’s double header. 

Championship contenders Tarran Mackenzie and Danny Buchan were both awarded long-lap penalties while running ninth and 12th. The pair ultimately finished sixth and 13th respectively. 

Kyle Ryde’ race was over before even completing turn one, as the Rich Energy OMG BMW rider crashed out and collected an unlucky Joe Francis. The safety car was deployed for two laps before racing got underway once again.