Jason O’Halloran has claimed the Bennetts British Superbike championship lead for the third time this season after clinching his second win from two at Thruxton. 

2021 British Superbike, Thruxton - Race Results (2)
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Ymaha20 Laps
2Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Ymaha+3.597s
3Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+3.921s
4Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+4.210s
5Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+4.853s
6Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+12.288s
7Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+14.530s
8Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+15.614s
9Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+16.247s
10Gine ReaGBRBuildbase Suzuki+16.559s
11Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+17.680s
12Tommy BridewellGBRMoto Rapido Ducati+22.879s
13Xavi ForesSPAFHO Racing BMW+26.906s
14Dan LinfootGBRTAG Racing Honda+29.089s
15Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+31.221s
16Josh BrookesAUSVisiontrack Ducati+31.689s
17Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Racing Kawasaki+32.491s
18Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Kawasaki+33.511s
19Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+34.575s
20Luke HopkinsGBRHopkins Honda Racing+47.925s
21Joe FrancisGBRIforce BMW+50.607s
22Brian McCormackIRLFHO Racing BMW+1:12.697s
23Ryan VickersGBRRAF KawasakiDNF
24Christian IddonGBRVisiontrack DucatiDNF
25Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiDNF
26Bjorn EstmentSACatfoss Racing SuzukiDNF

After dicing with Glenn Irwin on the opening lap, O’Halloran held a consistent margin of three tenths over the Honda rider, while Lee Jackson was unable to stay with the pair. 

That gap gradually extended itself to around one second as the Australian controlled things out front. 

In the battle for third, Jackson then came under pressure from a fast charging Ryan Vickers who duly got ahead of the FS-3 Kawasaki man on lap six. 

Championship leader Christian Iddon quickly followed the RAF Reserves Kawasaki rider through on Jackson, before inheriting third as Vickers was given a long-lap penalty due to missing the final chicane and not losing enough time upon rejoining.  

On lap 10 there was huge drama regarding the title battle as Jackson and Iddon both crashed. The incident was caused by Jackson running into the rear of Iddon’s Ducati at Campbell (turn 3).

With only four laps to go, Irwin suddenly dropped back into the clutches of Vickers, Bradley Ray and Tarran Mackenzie after suffering with rear grip. Mackenzie ended up claiming second ahead of Irwin, while Vickers crashed on the final lap.  

Race One

Jason O’Halloran led every lap of race one at Thruxton to claim his fifth win of the 2021 Bennetts British Superbike season. 

It was a scheduled 15 lap race that saw a safety car introduced after just three corners, along with a red flag on the penultimate lap due to Glenn Irwin’ crash. 

Irwin was on course for his first podium of the season after making his way past Peter Hickman on lap 13, however, the Northern Irishman lost the rear while following Christian Iddon which saw his Honda Fireblade remain stranded in the middle of the circuit. 

O’Halloran’s win sees the championship gap reduced to just one point in Iddon’s favour ahead of tomorrow’s double header. 

Championship contenders Tarran Mackenzie and Danny Buchan were both awarded long-lap penalties while running ninth and 12th. The pair ultimately finished sixth and 13th respectively. 

Kyle Ryde’ race was over before even completing turn one, as the Rich Energy OMG BMW rider crashed out and collected an unlucky Joe Francis. The safety car was deployed for two laps before racing got underway once again.