Formula 1 returns this weekend with the third round of the 2019 world championship, the Chinese Grand Prix. 

Mercedes heads to Shanghai having made the perfect start to its 2019 campaign with back-to-back one-two finishes handing the reigning world champions an early 39-point lead over its chief rival Ferrari. 

But Ferrari returned to form in Bahrain and was set for a commanding victory until late engine issues denied the dominant Charles Leclerc a maiden grand prix win. 

The Scuderia’s engine performance has left Mercedes concerned, with team boss Toto Wolff labelling Ferrari as the clear favourites heading into F1's 1000th race, despite the Italian team failing to finish higher than third in the opening two events. 

When is the Chinese Grand Prix?

The 2019 Chinese Grand Prix takes place on Sunday April 14. Cars will hit the track for the first time during FP1 and FP2 on Friday, before final practice and qualifying continues on Saturday. 

Where is the Chinese Grand Prix taking place?

The Chinese Grand Prix is held at the Shanghai International Circuit located inn the Jiading district of Shanghai in China. The track is 5.451 km long and has 16 turns, with the race set to last 56 laps. 

Where can I watch the Chinese Grand Prix? 

The 2019 Chinese Grand Prix is being shown exclusively live on Sky Sports (UK only). 

Friday April 12

LIVE Chinese GP FP1 - 2.45am 
LIVE Chinese GP FP2 - 6.45am

Saturday April 13 

LIVE Chinese GP FP3 - 3.45am
LIVE Chinese GP Qualifying - 6am (session start 7am)

Sunday April 14 

LIVE Chinese GP Pit Lane Live - 5.30am
LIVE Chinese GP On The Grid - 6.30am
LIVE Chinese GP Race - 7.10am

How else can I follow the 2019 Chinese Grand Prix? 

Besides TV Coverage, will be reporting with live text commentary from all sessions, plus the usual news, interviews and features. Updates will also be posted to's F1 Twitter account (Crash_NET_F1). 

Recent Chinese Grand Prix F1 Winners: 

2018: Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull
2017: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2016: Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
2015: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2014: Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2013: Fernando Alonso, Ferrari
2012: Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
2011: Lewis Hamilton, McLaren
2010: Jenson Button, McLaren
2009: Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull

Where can I watch Formula 1 in 2019? 

ALL F1 races, qualifying and practice sessions will be shown exclusively LIVE on Sky Sports F1 in the UK during 2019 - barring the British Grand Prix, which will be dual-broadcast with Channel 4. C4 will instead provide a comprehensive highlights package across the season. 

17 March Australian Grand Prix
31 March Bahrain Grand Prix
14 April Chinese Grand Prix 
28 April Azerbaijan Grand Prix
12 May Spanish Grand Prix 
26 May Monaco Grand Prix 
9 June Canadian Grand Prix 
23 June French Grand Prix 
30 June Austrian Grand Prix 
14 July British Grand Prix 
28 July German Grand Prix 
4 August Hungarian Grand Prix 
1 September Belgian Grand Prix 
8 September Italian Grand Prix 
22 September Singapore Grand Prix
29 September Russian Grand Prix 
13 October Japanese Grand Prix 
27 October Mexican Grand Prix 
3 November United States Grand Prix
17 November Brazilian Grand Prix 
1 December Abu Dhabi Grand Prix