Fernando Alonso has won the 2007 European Grand Prix after a hugely eventful race peppered with changeable weather and decided by a stunning passing move five laps from the finish.

A huge downpour soon after the start of the race and another shower towards the end made it a race of attrition for many, Felipe Massa leading the majority of the way only to struggle in worsening conditions and be caught and passed on the outside of turn five by Alonso as the laps counted down.

By contrast it was a dismal race for championship leader Lewis Hamilton after crashing early on and then suffering from a bad decision to change to slicks too early, the Brit ambling home ninth. Pole sitter Kimi Raikkonen meanwhile retired with mechanical problems whilst running third.

As such, the points positions saw some unfamiliar faces in unfamiliar positions, with Mark Webber earning only his and Red Bull's second ever podium in third, the Australian holding off a feisty Alex Wurz all the way to the finish line.

David Coulthard made it a day to remember for Red Bull in fifth from 20th on the grid, with Nick Heidfeld and Robert Kubica - having collided with one another on the first lap - sixth and seventh. Heikki Kovalainen was eighth, but only after throwing away a certain fifth place when he pitted too early for wet rubber in the final ten laps.

A full race report to follow



Loading Comments...