The Chinese Grand Prix has been moved to the third race on the 2009 Formula One calendar after the FIA revealed an updated version of the schedule for next season.

The event in Shanghai was due to be held in October but has now been switched to April and will follow the races in Australia and Malaysia as round three of the season. The race will be held on the weekend that was due to be the Bahrain GP, which has now been moved back a week to the 26 April.

The decision to move China also has implications towards the end of the season, which has now been brought forward by a fortnight.

The Japanese Grand Prix has been moved from 11 October to 4 October, while Brazil moves from 1 November to 18 October - the date which had been set aside for China. The first ever Abu Dhabi GP also moves forwards to fill Brazil's old date.

Despite talks between government officials from Montral and Formula One rights holder Bernie Ecclestone, there is still no place for the Canadian Grand Prix on the schedule, while the French Grand Prix has now officially been removed from the calendar after the French motorsport association announced it was withdrawing the race from the schedule.

The revised 2009 calendar is as follows - the 2008 one is shown after for easy comparison...

2009 Formula One World Championship Calendar:

29 MarchAustraliaAlbert Park
5 April MalaysiaSepang
19 April ChinaShanghai
26 AprilBahrainBahrain
10 May SpainCatalunya
24 May MonacoMonte Carlo
7 June TurkeyIstanbul
21 JuneGreat BritainSilverstone
12 JulyGermanyNurburgring
26 July HungaryHungaroring
23 August Europe Valencia
30 August BelgiumSpa
13 September ItalyMonza
27 September SingaporeSingapore
4 October JapanSuzuka
18 October BrazilInterlagos
1 November Abu DhabiYas Island

2008 Formula One World Championship Calendar:

16 MarchAustraliaAlbert Park
23 MarchMalaysiaSepang
6 April BahrainBahrain
27 AprilSpainCatalunya
11 MayTurkeyIstanbul
25 MayMonacoMonte Carlo
08 JuneCanadaCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
22 JuneFranceMagny Cours
06 JulyBritainSilverstone
20 JulyGermany Hockenheim
03 AugustHungaryHungaroring
24 August EuropeValencia
07 SeptemberItalyMonza
14 SeptemberBelgiumSpa
28 SeptemberSingaporeSingapore
12 OctoberChinaShanghai
19 OctoberJapanFuji
2 NovemberBrazilInterlagos