Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have officially been crowned Formula 1 world champions for 2018 after receiving their championship trophies at the FIA's end-of-season prize giving on Friday night.

Hamilton clinched his fifth drivers' championship at October's Mexican Grand Prix after defeating Ferrari rival Sebastian Vettel in a close head-to-head battle through 2018, while Mercedes clinched its fifth constructors' title two weeks later in Brazil.

Top 10 of F1 2018 Moments

After missing the FIA Champions' Press Conference earlier in the day due to illness, Hamilton recovered in time to appear at the FIA prize giving ceremony, taking to the stage to collect the F1 drivers' championship trophy from F1 CEO Chase Carey and FIA president Jean Todt.

Hamilton was also named FIA Personality of the Year for the second time, as voted for by permanently accredited media from the FIA's championships. Hamilton ended Max Verstappen's three-year streak of winning the accolade.

Hamilton was joined by Mercedes F1 chief Toto Wolff, who picked up the constructors' award for the fifth year in a row.

"This has been our most challenging season so far and put all of us to the test. We all had to raise our game, each and every member of our team," said Wolff.

"The fact that we ended up winning both titles is a testament to the incredibly hard work of the entire team. I am very proud of this accomplishment and I feel honoured to receive this trophy on behalf of everyone in Brixworth, Brackley and Stuttgart who helped to win these championships.

"One of the great things about the FIA Prize Giving Gala is that the event brings together so many different motorsport champions. Huge congratulations to everyone who fought hard to receive a championship trophy tonight - well done!"

The event in St. Petersburg also saw the winners of the FIA's other world championships receive their titles.

2019 Williams F1 driver George Russell collected the FIA Formula 2 championship trophy, and Jean-Eric Vergne picked up his first Formula E title following his victory in New York back in July.

WRC champion Sebastien Ogier was honoured for the sixth year in a row with his championship title, alongside co-driver Julien Ingrassia, while Johann Kristofferson (WRX), Gabriele Tarquini (WTCR) and Mick Schumacher (FIA F3) were among the other champions collecting their trophies.

Ferrari F1 drivers Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen were also honoured in St. Petersburg after finishing second and third respectively in the drivers' championship behind Hamilton.