Tony Kanaan and Thiago Medeiros are both from Brazil and drove No.11 entries this season in Indy Racing League events. They also share the distinction of being champions of their respective series.

Kanaan and Medeiros, along with other drivers, teams and manufacturers, were recognized last Friday for their accomplishments during the IRL Championship Celebration aboard the Disney Cruise Ship Wonder.

Kanaan, who had three victories and finished in the top 10 in each event, accepted the IRL IndyCar Series Cup and $1 million bonus from IRL CEO and President Tony George.

Kanaan completed an IRL-record 3,305 laps in the No. 11 Andretti-Green Racing Team 7-Eleven Dallara-Honda over the course of the competitive and gruelling 16-race schedule. He wrapped up the title in the penultimate event with a runner-up finish at California Speedway, and officially celebrated the championship after a second place at Texas Motor Speedway on October 17th.

"Tony drove like a champion from the first race on," said team co-owner Michael Andretti, who retired as a driver after the 87th Indianapolis 500 in May 2003. "He proved that he is the champion this year."

Medeiros, driving the No. 11 Sam Schmidt Motorsports Dallara-Infiniti, won half of the 12 IRL Menards Infiniti Pro Series races, including four in a row. He started from the pole position a series-record eight times. Medeiros and Sam Schmidt Motorsports team members were presented the Firestone Firehawk Cup by Menards Infiniti Pro Series Executive Director Roger Bailey.

Kosuke Matsuura accepted the Bombardier Rookie of the Year award and $50,000 bonus. Matsuura, one of three rookies in the IndyCar Series, had a high finish of fourth among his quartet of top-10s. He also was the Bank One Rookie of the Year for the 88th Indianapolis 500, where he started ninth in the No. 55 Super Aguri Fernandez Racing Panasonic ARTA Panoz G Force-Honda.

IRL Senior Vice President of Racing Operations Brian Barnhart, Target Chip Ganassi Racing owner Chip Ganassi and Debbie Savini presented the IRL Rising Star Award, which honours the late Tony Renna, to Vitor Meira.

Meira also received the Argent Mortgage Fastest Lap award, and received a timepiece from TAG Heuer for the "Closest Finish" contest with Rahal Letterman Racing teammate Buddy Rice. Meira was runner-up in the July 4th race at Kansas Speedway by 0.0051 of a second.

Dan Wheldon, the 2003 rookie award recipient, received the EMCO Gears Hard Charger award from John Wolfe, president of EMCO Gears. Wheldon, who was runner-up in the points race to his Andretti Green Racing teammate, had three victories and 13 top-10 finishes. Eight times he came in third.

Andretti Green Racing's Kyle Moyer received the IndyCar Series Championship General Manager award, while Jeff Simon was presented the IndyCar Series John Bearce Motorsports Chief Mechanic of the Year award.

Al Speyer, executive director of Firestone Racing accepted the IRL Marketer of the Year award. Gen Takakuwa, vice president and general manager of Twin Ring Motegi, accepted the IRL Promoter of the Year award for the second year in a row. Robert Clarke, vice president and general manager of Honda Performance Development, accepted the IndyCar Series Engine Manufacturer champion award.

Gil de Ferran, who retired after the 2003 IndyCar Series season, presented awards to Robbie Buhl and Al Unser Jr. Buhl, co-owner of Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, retired after the event at Twin Ring Motegi. Unser, a two-time Indianapolis 500 champion, retired in June after the event at Richmond International Raceway.

Award winners

IndyCar Series championship driver Tony Kanaan
IndyCar Series championship team Andretti Green Racing
Bombardier Rookie of the Year Kosuke Matsuura
Argent Mortgage Fastest Lap Vitor Meira
MBNA Pole Award Buddy Rice
EMCO Gears Hard Charger Dan Wheldon
IRL Rising Star Vitor Meira
Marlboro Lap Leader Tony Kanaan
IRL Marketer of the Year Firestone
IRL Promoter of the Year Twin Ring Motegi
IndyCar Series championship general manager Kyle Moyer
IndyCar Series John Bearce Motorsports Chief Mechanic of the Year Jeff Simon
IndyCar Series engine manufacturer champion Honda
IndyCar Series championship team sponsor 7-Eleven
TAG Heuer Closest Finish Award winners Rice and Meira
IndyCar Series second-place championship driver Dan Wheldon
IndyCar Series third-place championship driver Buddy Rice
IndyCar Series second-place championship team Andretti Green Racing
IndyCar Series third-place championship team Rahal Letterman Racing
Menards Infiniti Pro Series championship driver Thiago Medeiros
Menards Infiniti Pro Series championship team Sam Schmidt Motorsports
Menards Infiniti Pro Series second-place championship driver Paul Dana
Menards Infiniti Pro Series third-place championship driver Arie Luyendyk Jr.
Retirement recognition Robbie Buhl, Al Unser Jr.
Manufacturer recognition Chevrolet, Toyota, Dallara, Panoz G Force, Firestone, Delphi, X-Trac.