Exactly half of the 24 riders on this's MotoGP grid have already won at least one grand prix world championship, equalling the previous record during the 2015 season.

Those twelve riders (who have won 32 world championships titles between them, a new record for a MotoGP grid) are:

Valentino Rossi (9), Marc Marquez (6), Jorge Lorenzo (5), Dani Pedrosa (3), Johann Zarco (2), Alvaro Bautista (1), Maverick Vinales (1), Pol Espargaro (1), Tito Rabat (1), Andrea Dovizioso (1), Franco Morbidelli (1) and Thomas Luthi (1).

Official MotoGP stats also confirm that nine riders on the 2018 grid are already MotoGP race winners, with a new record of 215 premier-class GP wins between them.

21 out of the 24 riders on the MotoGP entry list have won a grand prix, in one of the classes, with a combined total of 461 GP victories.

The oldest rider on the MotoGP entry list is Valentino Rossi, who celebrated his 39th birthday in February.

The youngest is once Alex Rins, who will be 22 years and 101 days old when he lines up on the grid in Qatar.