The first ever motorcycle grand prix to be held at the Indianapolis Motor speedway has been won by Nicolas Terol, after the Jack and Jones Aprilia rider took victory in a rain-shortened 125cc event.

The race began on a dry track but raindrops began falling from the midpoint of the planned 23 lap race distance - and got progressively heavier until the red flags were finally shown with six laps still go.

Pole sitter Pol Espargaro led the majority of the race, but was passed by Terol when the first drops of rain began falling. When the rain became heavier the situation was reversed and Espargaro charged back up to Terol's rear wheel, snatching the lead back just before the red flags were waved.

But with the final classification being taken from the end of the last full lap, Terol clinched his first ever grand prix win by 1.7secs from the Belsen Derbi of Espargaro.

Blusens Aprilia's star rookie Scott Redding held third for much of the race, but lost the final podium position to fellow debut 2008 race winner Stefan Bradl shortly before the stoppage.

World championship leader Mike di Meglio was among the five-strong group that had hunted down Redding, but lost out during the hectic final laps before the stoppage and was eventually credited with tenth position.

The Frenchman now holds a slightly reduced 25 point lead over Simone Corsi heading into the final four rounds.

Race results - Indianapolis:

1. Terol (Aprilia)
2. Espargaro (Derbi) +1.708secs
3. Bradl (Aprilia) +3.984secs
4. Redding (Aprilia) +4.277secs
5. Cortese (Aprilia) +4.413secs
6. Marquez (KTM) +4.454secs
7. Corsi (Aprilia) +6.261secs
8. Smith (Aprilia) +7.782secs
9. Bonsey (Aprilia) +12.035secs
10. di Meglio (Derbi) +12.251secs

15. Webb (Aprilia) +27.592secs