Mike di Meglio secured the 2008 125cc World Championship with his fourth victory of the season at Phillip Island on Sunday.

The 20-year-old Frenchman took his first world title in perfect style, riding to an enormous 10.255secs victory margin over Stefan Bradl, with outgoing world champion Gabor Talmacsi claiming the final podium position by a fraction of a second over Andrea Iannone.

Bradley Smith had charged into an early lead from second on the grid, but soon became one of several riders to fall on the opening lap. di Meglio, who qualified on pole, was in front by the end of lap two and disappeared into the distance thereafter - his lead topping 11.5secs heading into the closing stages.

Grizzly Gas Aprilia rider Bradl broke away for a safe second position during the second half of the race, and is now second in the world championship standings, 50 points behind di Meglio.

However, even if the young German won the two remaining rounds and di Meglio failed to score, the Ajo Motorsport Derbi rider already has superior race results - allowing him to be crowned world champion on Sunday.

Simone Corsi, who came into the event second in the championship, was just tenth at the halfway stage of the race and - having progressed slightly forward - was elbowed onto the grass by Marc Marquez on the dash to the flag.

Marquez was later relegated to ninth after being hit with a one second penalty for his move on Corsi.

Race results - Phillip Island:

1. di Meglio (Derbi)
2. Bradl (Aprilia) +10.255secs
3. Talmacsi (Aprilia) +13.106secs
4. Iannone (Aprilia) +13.149secs
5. Espargaro (Derbi) +26.796secs
6. Cortese (Aprilia) +27.123secs
7. Rabat (KTM) +27.181secs
8. Corsi (Aprilia) +27.871secs
9. Marquez (KTM) +28.287secs
10. Redding (Aprilia) +35.087secs

DNF Smith (Aprilia) +secs
DNS Webb (Aprilia)