2023 San Marino MotoGP, Misano - Sprint Race Results
1Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP23)19m 58.785s
2Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+1.445s
3Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP23)+4.582s
4Dani PedrosaSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+4.772s
5Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+4.931s
6Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)+6.062s
7Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+6.519s
8Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP23)+7.893s
9Alex MarquezSPAGresini Ducati (GP22)+9.264s
10Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+11.318s
11Raul FernandezSPARNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)+13.365s
12Miguel OliveiraPORRNF Aprilia (RS-GP22)+13.788s
13Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+14.243s
14Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP23)+14.154s
15Jack MillerAUSRed Bull KTM (RC16)+17.421s
16Pol EspargaroSPATech3 GASGAS (RC16)+17.451s
17Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP22)+18.133s
18Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+19.749s
19Augusto FernandezSPATech3 GASGAS (RC16)*+20.403s
20Michele PirroITAAruba.it Ducati (GP23)+21.454s
21Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+21.962s
22Stefan BradlGERTeam HRC (RC213V)+23.672s
23Joan MirSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+36.100s

* Rookie

Jorge Martin takes a lights-to-flag victory in the 2023 San Marino MotoGP Sprint race, reducing the injured Francesco Bagnaia’s title lead to 45 points.

Martin converted a lap record pole position into the holeshot at turn one and was never headed.

Marco Bezzecchi, riding with an injured left hand from Barcelona, lurked threateningly on the Pramac Ducati’s rear wheel for much of the 13 laps but was unable to attempt a pass and called off his challenge in the closing stages.

By contrast, Bagnaia, who injured his leg in last Sunday’s horrific Barcelona fall, came under intense pressure from KTM’s wild-card star Dani Pedrosa, who was swarming all over the back of the Ducati in the closing stages.

But Pedrosa, in turn, had KTM team-mate Brad Binder breathing his exhaust fumes and, ultimately, Bagnaia gritted his teeth to keep both RC16s at bay.

Franco Morbidelli, Joan Mir, Stefan Bradl, Pol Espargaro and Johann Zarco all received post-race penalties for exceeding track limits... Mir received a record three long lap penalties during the race (one of which, like Augusto Fernandez, he served).

A MotoGP Miracle for Pecco Bagnaia 🙏

Ducati’s reigning champion Francesco Bagnaia took a reduced 50-point title lead over Pramac’s Jorge Martin into this afternoon's race after a shocking accident on the opening lap in Barcelona last weekend.

Bagnaia highsided from the lead and landed in the path of Brad Binder, who couldn’t avoid hitting his legs. Miraculously Bagnaia escaped without any fractures and was passed fit for this weekend.

However factory Ducati team-mate Enea Bastianini is absent from Misano, India and Japan after fracturing his left hand and ankle after triggering a multi-rider pile-up just moments before Bagnaia’s highside.

Dani Pedrosa is making a second wild-card appearance of the season for KTM, and using a carbon fibre chassis, with fellow test riders Stefan Bradl (Honda) and Michele Pirro (Ducati) also back on track.

Bradl is using a '2023.5' RCV: This year's engine (as required by the rules) combined with a range of prototype 2024 parts. Bradl's bike, plus perhaps more new developments, are set to be tried by the official Honda race riders in Monday's test.

LCR Honda’s Alex Rins remains absent due to his Mugello leg injuries and, with Iker Lecuona returning to WorldSBK duty, is replaced by Japanese test rider Takumi Takahashi.

But Takahashi, whose previous MotoGP start was in 2015, failed to lap within the 105% time in practice and was thus unable to take part in qualifying or this weekend's races.