MotoGP Australia - Free Practice (4) Results

Free Practice (4) results from the 2016 Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island, round 16 of 18.
MotoGP Australia - Free Practice (4) Results

Nicky Hayden fastest in FP4 as the Phillip Island weather continues to taunt the riders.

Hayden is making his second MotoGP appearance of the season - this time returning to the Repsol Honda team with which he won the 2006 world championship, as a replacement for the injured Dani Pedrosa.

A dry track for the opening minutes of FP4 - when Hayden set his best time - was swiftly followed by torrential rain and gale-force winds, causing the session to be red flagged after 11 of the 30mins.

Once restarted, the session remained fully wet to the finish.

The delayed Qualifying 1 - for those outside the top ten after third free practice, including Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo - will now get underway.

1.Nicky HaydenUSARepsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 36.810s[Lap 3/12]312km/h (Top Speed)2.Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 40.031s +3.221s[10/10]303km/h3.Aleix EspargaroESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1m 40.971s +4.161s[2/8]307km/h4.Loris BazFRAAvintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 40.973s +4.163s[2/11]299km/h5.Jack MillerAUSEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)1m 41.092s +4.282s[2/2]301km/h6.Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)1m 41.199s +4.389s[10/10]302km/h7.Scott ReddingGBROcto Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)1m 41.482s +4.672s[14/14]290km/h8.Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici GP)1m 41.648s +4.838s[9/9]319km/h9.Bradley SmithGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)1m 41.825s +5.015s[10/10]299km/h10.Danilo PetrucciITAOcto Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)1m 41.880s +5.070s[12/14]312km/h11.Jorge LorenzoESPMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 42.112s +5.302s[12/13]299km/h12.Yonny HernandezCOLAspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 42.152s +5.342s[2/6]288km/h13.Pol EspargaroESPMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)1m 42.225s +5.415s[2/12]309km/h14.Valentino RossiITAMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 42.226s +5.416s[11/14]309km/h15.Hector BarberaESPDucati Team (Desmosedici GP)1m 42.916s +6.106s[9/13]305km/h16.Stefan BradlGERFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 43.019s +6.209s[9/9]282km/h17.Mike JonesAUSAvintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 43.048s +6.238s[14/14]291km/h0.Maverick Vi?alesESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1m 43.821s +7.011s[10/10]317km/h0.Eugene LavertyIRLAspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 43.933s +7.123s[10/10]293km/h0.Alvaro BautistaESPFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 44.411s +7.601s[11/12]285km/h0.Tito RabatESPEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)*1m 44.545s +7.735s[15/15]293km/h

Blue Name = No Concessions.
7 engine changes for the season. Engines must be identical throughout season within same team (development freeze). 5 days of private testing.Black Name = Concessions.
9 engine changes. No engine development freeze. Unlimited private testing.* Rookie

Live Updates: Follow @Crash_MotoGP
Fastest practice time:Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 33.155s (FP3)

Official Phillip Island MotoGP records:Best lap: Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 27.899s (2013)Fastest race lap:Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 28.108s (2013)

By Peter McLaren

Read More