Tuesday marked the third and final day of 2018 MotoGP testing at Sepang in Malaysia.

All 23 confirmed race riders were present this week, plus some test riders, while Yonny Hernandez has been called-up by Tech 3 as they continue the search to replace Jonas Folger.

Rookie Thomas Luthi is making his Marc VDS Honda debut after missing the end of the 2017 season due to injuries at October's Malaysian Moto2 race weekend.

Kohta Nozane and Katsuyuki Nakasuga are the Yamaha Test Riders listed as present, but appear to be alternating between three different bikes.

Testing began at 10am and a dry track, for the first time this week, meant riders went straight out for a time attack with Jorge Lorenzo setting the fastest ever two-wheel lap of Sepang, just before 12pm.

Some race simulations were also conducted on the final afternoon, with the action concluding at 6pm.

KTM's Pol Espargaro did not ride today, after yesterday's fast accident at Turn 4.

The next official test will see the first MotoGP laps at Thailand's Buriram circuit, from February 16-18...

1. = Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 58.830s [Lap 21/48]
2. = Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.009s +0.179s [9/58]
3. = Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.052s +0.222s [18/65]
4. = Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 59.169s +0.339s [16/51]
5. = Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 59.346s +0.516s [11/36]
6. = Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 59.348s +0.518s [14/52]
7. = Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.382s +0.552s [9/75]
8. ^4 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 59.449s +0.619s [52/54]
9. ˅1 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 59.511s +0.681s [16/55]
10. ^1 Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 59.528s +0.698s [49/49]
11. ˅2 Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 1m 59.547s +0.717s [14/35]
12. ˅2 Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 59.615s +0.785s [15/62]
13. ^2 Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 59.962s +1.132s [52/52]
14. ˅1 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 2m 0.071s +1.241s [19/54]
15. ˅1 Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 2m 0.205s +1.375s [20/57]
16. ^3 Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 0.464s +1.634s [54/64]
17. ˅1 Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 0.526s +1.696s [14/55]
18. ˅1 Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 0.547s +1.717s [70/71]
19. ˅1 Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 2m 0.574s +1.744s [18/48]
20. = Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 2m 0.784s +1.954s [15/30]
21. ^3 Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 0.812s +1.982s [56/56]
22. ˅1 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 0.969s +2.139s [71/77]
23. ˅1 Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 1.120s +2.290s [5/58]
24. ˅1 Tom Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 1.126s +2.296s [8/52]
25. = Yonny Hernandez COL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 2m 1.223s +2.393s [11/31]
26. = Yamaha Test 3 JPN Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 1.385s +2.555s [9/17]
27. = Yamaha Test 2 JPN Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 1.679s +2.849s [24/30]
* Rookie

˄X Rider has X higher positions than end of previous hour.
= Rider has same position as end of previous hour.
˅X Rider has X lower positions than end of previous hour.

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Fastest Day 2 time:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 59.355s

Fastest Day 1 time:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 59.427s

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 2m 0.606s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 59.053s (2015)

Unofficial Sepang MotoGP record:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 58.867s (2015 testing)

By Peter McLaren