The second day of the second official pre-season test, and MotoGP's debut in Thailand, is underway at Buriram.

This week's outing is primarily to prepare for October's inaugural Thai MotoGP - offering the chance to gather data for the teams, check the facilities and evaluate tyres for Michelin.

Malaysian Hafizh Syahrin is riding his first MotoGP laps for Monster Yamaha Tech3 in what is effectively a final audition for the 2018 race seat vacated by Jonas Folger.

KTM's Pol Espargaro is absent due to injuries at the previous Sepang test.

Testing began at 9:30am and concludes at 5:30pm…

1. = Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 30.127s [Lap 39/54]
2. = Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 30.292s +0.165s [15/75]
3. = Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 30.367s +0.240s [31/64]
4. = Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 30.494s +0.367s [26/60]
5. = Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 30.509s +0.382s [19/42]
6. = Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 30.568s +0.441s [33/41]
7. = Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 30.729s +0.602s [22/42]
8. = Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 30.738s +0.611s [19/54]
9. = Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 30.775s +0.648s [27/59]
10. ^2 Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 30.887s +0.760s [63/69]
11. ˅1 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 30.888s +0.761s [22/47]
12. ˅1 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 30.888s +0.761s [23/65]
13. = Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 30.990s +0.863s [43/67]
14. = Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 1m 31.052s +0.925s [30/55]
15. = Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 31.113s +0.986s [38/63]
16. = Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 31.130s +1.003s [18/48]
17. = Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 31.185s +1.058s [47/60]
18. = Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 31.219s +1.092s [28/65]
19. = Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 31.626s +1.499s [17/82]
20. = Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 31.637s +1.510s [20/40]
21. = Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 31.906s +1.779s [10/55]
22. = Tom Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 31.994s +1.867s [36/49]
23. = Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 31.998s +1.871s [37/39]
24. = Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 1m 32.664s +2.537s [16/41]
* Rookie

^X Rider is X positions higher than end of previous hour.
= Rider is same position as end of previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than end of previous hour.

Fastest Day 1 time:
Cal Crutchlow GBR Honda 1m 30.797s

Buririam WorldSBK records:
Pole Position:
Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki 1m 32.957s (2017)
Fastest race lap:
Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki 1m 33.436s (2017)

By Peter McLaren