UPDATE: Vinales has been given a three-place grid penalty and Morbidelli a six-place penalty for riding slowly on the racing line and disturbing other riders in qualifying.

Vinales therefore drops from 11th to 14th place on the grid, and Morbidelli from 13th to 19th.

Lorenzo snatches pole position for the Aragon MotoGP ahead of Ducati team-mate Dovizioso.

Marquez dropped to third after a last-lap mistake, having spent time waiting for a slipstream behind Dovizioso.

Crutchlow fell at the end of Qualifying 2.

Rossi failed to progress beyond Qualifying 1 and will start from 18th, his worst dry qualifying since 2006.

Pol Espargaro re-broke his healing left collarbone in FP3 and has been ruled out of the remainder of the weekend.

Tito Rabat is still recovering from leg injuries at Silverstone and has been replaced by WorldSBK rider Jordi Torres, making his MotoGP debut this weekend. Torres is using the GP16 machines of Simeon, who has been handed Rabat's GP17s.

CLICK HERE for live updates

Qualifying 2:

  1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 46.881s [Lap 6/6] 335km/h (Top Speed)
  2. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 46.895s +0.014s [Lap 7/7] 340k
  3. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 46.960s +0.079s [Lap 3/7] 338k
  4. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 47.146s +0.265s [Lap 3/6] 336k
  5. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 47.169s +0.288s [Lap 3/7] 337k
  6. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 47.224s +0.343s [Lap 7/7] 344k
  7. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 47.351s +0.470s [Lap 2/6] 334k
  8. Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 47.678s +0.797s [Lap 3/7] 338k
  9. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 47.737s +0.856s [Lap 7/7] 330k
  10. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 47.792s +0.911s [Lap 3/7] 332k
  11. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 47.810s +0.929s [Lap 2/6] 336k
  12. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 1m 48.284s +1.403s [Lap 3/7] 327k

Qualifying 1:

  1. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 48.009s 328k
  2. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 48.052s 329k
  3. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 48.181s 327k
  4. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 48.216s 331k
  5. Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 48.398s 334k
  6. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 48.627s 332k
  7. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 48.975s 334k
  8. Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 48.988s 327k
  9. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 49.303s 325k
  10. Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP17)* 1m 49.699s 324k
  11. Jordi Torres SPA Reale Avintia (GP16) 1m 50.336s 335k


Fastest practice time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 47.382s (FP2)

Official Aragon MotoGP records:
Pole Position:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 46.635s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 48.120s (2015)

By Peter McLaren



YouTube Channel


Loading Comments...